A Message from the Honors and Awards Chair

Nominations for the 2022 Annual Meeting Awards are now being accepted. Anyone can make a nomination however, nominations from Division Executive Committees are especially solicited since ANS division leaders are often in an ideal position to evaluate the contributions of potential nominees. Self-nomination is not permitted.

We urge you to submit a nomination if you know a deserving professional who is eligible and qualified in one of the fields served by the Society. Your nomination of highly qualified individuals is the key step in recognizing their contributions and ensuring that the ANS Honors and Awards program is aware of their achievements.

We look forward to receiving your nominations for highly qualified colleagues. Please click on the links below to learn more about each award, download nomination forms, and review past recipients. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact honors@ans.org.


H.M. Hashemian, PhD
Chair. Honors and Awards Committee



The following awards are presented at the ANS Annual Meeting:

  • Walker Lee Cisler Medal
  • Distinguished Public Service Award
  • Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award
  • Fellow of ANS
  • Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Mishima Award
  • Special Award - Outstanding contributions to retaining the operations and lifetime of Zero Carbon Nuclear Generators
  • Standards Service Award
  • Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (w/NEI)
  • Samuel Untermyer II Medal
  • Walter H. Zinn Medal

We encourage all members to review the background and nomination requirements for the awards and consider nominating a qualified colleague. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact Hash Hashemian, chair of the Honors and Awards Committee.

Selection Process
Completeness of information is essential for consideration. Recipients will be selected by the Honors and Awards Committee comprised of representatives from the Society’s divisions. Because of the large number of nominations typically submitted, late nominations are not accepted. Please keep in mind that many of our awards are open to non-ANS members, and nominating colleagues who are not members is a unique way to cultivate new ANS relationships. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Presentation of Awards
The selected recipients, with the exception of the Smyth award, will be honored at the ANS Annual Meeting Opening Plenary on June 13, 2022. The Smyth Award will be presented at the NEI Nuclear Energy Assembly in June 2022. Honorees will be notified of their selection before May 2022.