Nomination Deadline

August 1

Presented at the

Winter Conference


Engraved Bronze Medal


The Seaborg Medal recognizes an individual for outstanding scientific or engineering research achievements associated with the development of peaceful uses of nuclear science. This award honors excellence worthy of international recognition sustained over a period of time.

Nominees may be from any nation, but they must not be deceased at the time the awardee is selected and need not be ANS members.

The award consists of an engraved bronze medal. It is to be made no more frequently than once per year and is presented during the ANS Winter Conference.


The award was established in 1983 to provide high-level recognition for sustained technical accomplishments contributing to peaceful uses of atomic energy. It is funded out of the general Honors and Awards fund and named after Glenn T. Seaborg, the inaugural recipient.

Selection Method

Nominations for candidates for the award are invited by an announcement in Nuclear News and an open call for nominations to all ANS members.

Nominees are evaluated by a subcommittee of the Honors and Awards (H&A) Committee. The committee must have at least five members. If the committee determines that there is no candidate of sufficient merit, the committee may recommend that the award not be made in that year.

The selection committee reviews the nominations and makes a selection which is forwarded to the ANS Executive Committee for their approval.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications (if applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Three (3) letters of support are required (no more than five)

View Award