Nomination Deadline

August 1

Presented at the

Winter Conference

Monetary Award*



The Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community Award recognizes an individual, group, or organization for outstanding efforts in social responsibility promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion or inclusive community-building in the nuclear community. The award may be presented for a singular outstanding effort or a sustained effort over a long period of time.

The award consists of an engraved plaque and a $1,000 monetary award* presented annually at the ANS Winter Conference.

*In lieu of a cash award, recipients can opt for travel reimbursement up to the award amount.


This award was established in 2020 by the Diversity and Inclusion in ANS (DIA) Committee and the Honors and Awards Committee. This award highlights and recognizes the important work done at many levels to both build an inclusive and equitable environment inside and outside the nuclear community.

Selection Method

The award is given to an individual, group, or organization who has made a significant and impactful contribution to building an inclusive and equitable nuclear community. This can be exemplified by either one significant initiative or a sustained effort over time and potentially many initiatives.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator (principal sponsor)
  • A narrative summary of about 500 - 1,000 words that outlines the nominee’s relevant efforts or initiatives and the significance of these efforts.
  • Additional documentation or media that exemplifies the nominee’s efforts may be provided.
  • Additional letters of support (no more than five) highlighting the significance and implications of the relevant efforts may be provided with the nomination package.

The selection committee consists of six (6) members – three (3) from the Honors and Awards Committee and three (3) from the Diversity and Inclusion in ANS Committee, appointed by the respective chairs. It is awarded once per year if an eligible candidate is nominated and selected.

View Award