Nomination Deadline

August 1

Presented at the

Winter Conference

Monetary Award*



The Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women’s Achievement Award recognizes the outstanding personal dedication and technical achievement by a woman for work she has performed in the fields of nuclear science, engineering, research or education. This award is made to recognize outstanding achievements by women who might not have the tenure or visibility to be considered for other awards of the Society.

The award is to be given to a woman whose work in the field of nuclear science, engineering, education or research meets the following criteria:

  • Technical leadership for work performed in her subject area (i.e., she should have a key role in establishing a new curriculum, or have been instrumental in the success of a major research or design effort).
  • This award may be given for lifetime achievement, or for a singular outstanding contribution to the technical community.

Nominees may be from any nation, but they must not be deceased at the time the awardee is selected and need not be ANS members, but should be affiliated with the nuclear community in some manner.

The award consists of an engraved plaque, $1,000* monetary award, and compensation (up to $1,500) for travel expenses incurred in attending the award presentation at the ANS Winter Conference.

*In lieu of a cash award, recipients can opt for travel reimbursement up to the award amount.


The Standing Committee on the Role of Women in ANS established the Women’s Achievement Award in 1988. It was approved by the Honors and Awards Committee and the Board of Directors in June 1990. This action was taken to fulfill a need to provide role models to students and younger members of the Society, as well as to stimulate greater interest and participation among female members.

Dr. Mary Jane Oestmann, an ANS Fellow, pledged $25,000 in 2001 and her name was added to the title of the award.

Selection Method

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications (if applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required; no more than five)

View Award