Nomination Deadline

March 1

odd years only

Presented at the

International Conference on IFSA

odd years only

Monetary Award



The Edward Teller Award recognizes pioneering research and leadership in the use of laser and ion-particle beams to produce unique high-temperature and high-density matter for scientific research and for controlled thermonuclear fusion. The award is normally presented at the International Conference on Inertial Fusion Science Applications (IFSA) during odd-numbered years, beginning with the year 1999. The award may be presented at an alternate location determined by the Fusion Energy Division in consultation with the ANS Honors and Awards Committee.

Nominees may be from any nation, need not be an ANS member and must be living at the time of award selection.

The award consists of an engraved silver medal and a $2,000 monetary award. A maximum of two awards per cycle will be made. If a qualified candidate is not identified during a ballot period, the selection committee may recommend that the award not be made in that year.


The Teller Award was established in 1991 by the conference series formerly called Laser Interaction and Related Plasma Phenomenon (LIRPP). This award was officially recognized by the Fusion Energy Division in June 1999 as a Division-Administered award. It is presently fully-funded by the Fusion Energy Division of ANS.

Selection Method

Nominations for candidates for the award are invited by a bi-annual announcement in ANS publications and independent efforts of the Fusion Energy Division and through the channels of the IFSA conference.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator.
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications
  • Five relevant publications
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (1 support letter required, no more than five). One of which from a different institution than the home institution of the nominee

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

Hard copies can be mailed to:

Honors and Awards
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535

View Award