Nomination Deadline

December 1

Presented at the

Annual Conference

Monetary Award



The George C. Laurence Pioneering Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding pioneering contributions to the field of nuclear reactor safety philosophy.

Nominees need not be ANS members.

This award consists of an engraved plaque and a monetary award of $1,000.


The award was established by the Nuclear Installations Safety Division (NISD), formerly the Nuclear Reactor Safety Division, in 1988 to honor Dr. George C. Laurence who was one of the pioneers in the Canadian nuclear program and who showed remarkable insight by early introducing the risk-informed concept and establishing it, in his capacity of President of the Atomic Energy Control Board, as an integral part of the Canadian nuclear safety regulatory system. This award is supported by the general operating budget of NISD.

Selection Method

The NISD Honors and Awards Committee administers this award. That committee establishes the evaluation criteria, solicits the nominations, and determines the recipient. The award shall not be given on an annual basis, but when the NISD H&A Committee deems such recognition to be appropriate. The national Honors and Awards Committee is available for consultation and review as appropriate.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications (if applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required; no more than five)

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

View Award