Nomination Deadline

August 1

Presented at the

Winter Conference or THD Topical Meeting

Monetary Award



The THD Technical Achievement Award recognizes outstanding past or current technical achievement. The Technical Achievement Award is the highest award given by the Thermal Hydraulics Division. This award is based on a major contribution to the state of the art, an important publication, a major technical achievement, or a sustained record of accomplishment and technical excellence in the art or science of Thermal Hydraulics.

It is normally presented to a member of THD; however, nominees need not be members of THD. Any ANS member is eligible for the Technical Achievement Award.

The THD governing documents do not preclude an officer of the THD from receiving the award.

The award consists of an engraved plaque and a monetary award of $2,000. The award is presented at the ANS Winter Conference or a Topical Meeting supported by the Thermal Hydraulics Division.


This award was established by the Thermal Hydraulics Division in 1984 and became a division-administered ANS award in 2006.

Selection Method

Nominations for this award are made directly by the THD membership or others in the technical community. Anyone in the technical community may submit a nomination package for the award.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 500-1000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications (if applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Three (3) letters of support are required (no more than five)

The THD Honors & Awards Committee, rather than the THD officers or Executive Committee, is responsible for reviewing the nomination packages and selecting an appropriate winner. If members of the THD Honors & Awards Committee are considered for the THD award, they recuse themselves from the selection process.

Nominations are valid for three years from the date of submittal but are only re-entered by the nominator sending an addendum, updating the original nomination, or sending a letter requesting that their candidate by re-entered on the next ballot.

For more information, please visit the Thermal Hydraulics Division website.

View Award