Nomination Deadline

March 1 &
August 1

Presented at the

Annual Meeting &
Winter Meeting


The Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes a public servant who has demonstrated leadership in energy policy formulation and public enlightenment and has made significant contributions to the betterment of humanity in the national or international sphere of public service. The recipient will be expected to present a brief acceptance address that could be published by the national news media.

The award consists of an engraved plaque which may be presented by the ANS President at the President’s Special Session during either ANS Annual or Winter Meeting. There is no predetermined frequency or time for presentation of the award.

Nominees need not be ANS members. The ideal nominee could be an individual in an elective or appointive position of government, an international agency, or other related public chartered organization.

Selection Method

The criteria for this award are quite broad and general and cannot be applied as a rigid standard to any one individual. The award is a suggestive award and each nomination is considered on the basis of the individual’s merits and contributions.

Recommendations for consideration for the award may be sent to the ANS Executive Director at any time. Recommendations made to the Executive Director are presented to the Honors and Awards Committee, where they are evaluated. The nominee must receive a majority of the total committee’s positive votes, with no more than twenty percent (20%) of the Honors and Awards Committee voting in the negative to be recommended for the award. A positive recommendation by the Honors and Awards Committee is then forwarded to the ANS Executive Committee for approval.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required; no more than five)

View Award