



2025 Winter Conference & Expo Awards

Call for Nominations

Deadline for Submission: August 1, 2025

Nominations for the 2025 Winter Conference awards are now being accepted. Anyone can make a nomination, however nominations from Division Executive Committees are especially solicited since ANS division leaders are often in an ideal position to evaluate the contributions of potential nominees. Self-nomination is not permitted.

We urge you to submit a nomination if you know a deserving professional who is eligible and qualified in one of the fields served by the Society. Your nomination of highly qualified individuals is the key step in recognizing their contributions and ensuring that the ANS Honors and Awards program is aware of their achievements.

We look forward to receiving your nominations for highly qualified colleagues. Please visit the ANS website to learn more about each award, submit nominations, and review past recipients. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact honors@ans.org.

Sincerely,

H.M. Hashemian, PhD

H.M. Gashemean

Chair, Honors and Awards Committee

Nominate Today!

Submit a Nomination for the ANS Winter Conference Awards

Deadline: August 1, 2025

honors@ans.org











Submit a Nomination for the ANS Winter Conference Awards

Deadline: August 1, 2025

honors@ans.org

For over 50 years, the ANS Honors and Awards Program has honored outstanding achievements and meritorious service in the various fields served by our Society. Through our program, ANS is proud to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of nuclear science and technology professionals.

Awards range from elevation of a member to Fellow grade to named awards honoring highly respected individuals in their field. Information on each of the awards offered, including past recipients and nomination forms, may be obtained at **ans.org**.

We encourage all members to review the descriptions and nomination requirements for the awards and consider nominating a qualified colleague. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact Hash Hashemian, chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, at honors@ans.org.

Selection Process

Completeness of information is essential for consideration. Recipients will be selected by the Honors and Awards Committee comprised of representatives from the Society's divisions. Because of the large number of nominations typically submitted, late nominations are not accepted. Please keep in mind that many of our awards are open to non-ANS members, and nominating colleagues who are not members is a unique way to cultivate new ANS relationships. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Presentation of Awards

The selected recipients, with the exception of the Nuclear Historic Landmark, will be honored at the Opening Plenary of the ANS Winer Conference and Expo on Monday, November 10, 2025. Honorees will be notified of their selection by October 2025.

The following awards are presented at the ANS Winter Conference

Fellow of ANS

Distinguished Public Service Award

Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award

Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal

Untermyer & Cisler Reactor Technology Medal (w/AESJ)

E. Gail de Planque Medal

Seaborg Medal

Alvin M. Weinberg Medal

Landis Public Communication and Education Award

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award

Darlene Schmidt Science News Award

Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community

Young Members Advancement Award

Young Member Excellence Award



ANS Winter Conference Award Descriptions

Fellow of ANS

Highest grade of membership. Fellow status can only be attained by professional accomplishments via nomination by peers and election by the Honors and Awards Committee and Board of Directors.

Distinguished Public Service Award

Presented to a public servant who has demonstrated leadership in energy policy formulation and public enlightenment and has made significant contributions for the betterment of mankind in the national and international sphere of public service.

Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award

Presented to ANS members who have contributed in an outstanding manner to the development and understanding of the goals and policies of the Society, or who have made outstanding non-technical contributions to the fields of nuclear science and engineering. Must be an ANS Member.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal

One of three Top Tiered awards of the Society.

Presented to individuals in recognition of outstanding public policy leadership or contributions to the field of nuclear nonproliferation. This award is to recognize and honor excellence worthy of international recognition sustained over a period time

Untermyer & Cisler Reactor Technology Medal (w/ AESJ)

Presented to individuals who have made outstanding scientific, engineering, or management contributions to the advancement of nuclear reactor technology.

E. Gail de Planque Medal

Presented to women whose outstanding lifetime or singular achievements have resulted in tangible benefits to the field of nuclear science and engineering.

Seaborg Medal

One of three Top Tiered awards of the Society.

Presented to individuals in recognition of outstanding scientific or engineering research achievements associated with the development of peaceful uses of nuclear science. This award is to recognize and honor excellence worthy of international recognition sustained over a period time.

Alvin M. Weinberg Medal

Presented to individuals in recognition of outstanding international technical and policy leadership in nuclear science and technology, and for consistently and effectively illuminating the human dimensions of the nuclear enterprise.

Landis Public Communication and Education Award

Presented to individuals or organizations whose outstanding personal efforts, dedication and accomplishment have furthered public understanding of the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology.

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award

Presented to a site or facility to memorialize locations where outstanding physical accomplishments took place which were instrumental in the advancement and implementation of nuclear technology and the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Sites or facilities must have been placed in service at least 20 years prior to nomination.

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award

Presented to women whose outstanding technical achievements might not have the tenure or visibility to be considered for other awards of the Society.

Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community

Presented to individuals, group, or organization for outstanding efforts in social responsibility promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion or inclusive communitybuilding in the nuclear community.

Young Members Advancement Award

Presented to individuals who made significant contributions towards integrating young members into ANS.

Young Member Excellence Award

Presented to young members (under 36 years old) who actively advance the goals of the ANS YMG, display outstanding non-technical skills as well as technical or managerial ability, are recognized by others in their field, demonstrate high quality and safety standards, and positively represent nuclear science and technology to the general population.