A Message from the Honors and Awards Chair

For over 50 years, the ANS Honors and Awards Program has honored outstanding achievements and meritorious service in the various fields served by our Society. Through our program, ANS is proud to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of nuclear science and technology professionals.

Awards range from elevation of a member to Fellow grade to named awards honoring highly respected individuals in their field. Information on each of the awards, including past award recipients and nomination forms, may be obtained by clicking on the links below.

Call for Nominations

The following awards are presented at the ANS Winter Meeting; abbreviated descriptions of these awards may be found in the Call for Nominations:

  • E. Gail de Planque Medal
  • Distinguished Public Service Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Fellow of ANS
  • Landis Public Communication and Education Award
  • Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
  • Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award
  • Reactor Technology Award (w/ AESJ)
  • Seaborg Medal
  • Alvin M. Weinberg Medal
  • Young Members Advancement Award
  • Young Member Excellence Award

We encourage all members to review the background and nomination requirements for the awards and consider nominating a qualified colleague. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact Hash Hashemian, chair of the Honors and Awards Committee.

Selection Process
Completeness of information is essential for consideration. Recipients will be selected by the Honors and Awards Committee comprised of representatives from the Society’s divisions. Because of the large number of nominations typically submitted, late nominations are not accepted. Please keep in mind that many of our awards are open to non-ANS members, and nominating colleagues who are not members is a unique way to cultivate new ANS relationships. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Presentation of Awards
The selected recipients, with the exception of the Nuclear Historic Landmark, will be honored at the ANS Winter Meeting Opening Plenary on Monday, November 16, 2020. Honorees will be notified of their selection by October 2020. Landmark awards are presented onsite at a later date.