American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

The American Nuclear Society currently supports eight Consensus Committees. A Consensus Committee is the balanced body that conducts the consensus ballot on proposed standards in order for them to become official, approved standards. Each Consensus Committee has a defined scope of activities. The eight ANS Consensus Committees are as follows:

Environmental and Siting (ES) Consensus Committee

Fuel, Waste, and Decommissioning (FWD) Consensus Committee

Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management (ANS/ASME)

Large Light Water Reactor (LLWR) Consensus Committee

Nuclear Criticality Safety (NCS) Consensus Committee

Non-Reactor Nuclear Facilities (NRNF) Consensus Committee

Research and Advanced Reactors (RAR) Consensus Committee

Safety and Radiological Analyses (SRA)

Last updated February 18, 2014, 10:44am CST.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.