American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

ANS/ASME Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management (JCNRM)

The JCNRM Consensus Committee is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards that establish safety and risk criteria and methods for completion of probabilistic risk analysis (PRA) and risk assessments. Additional related standards activities may be performed as upon concurrence of the ANS Standards Board and the ASME Standards & Certification Board. These criteria and methods are applicable to design, development, construction, operation, decontamination, decommissioning, waste management, and environmental restoration for nuclear facilities. Activities of the consensus committee shall be guided by the Procedures for ASME Codes and Standards Development Committees but shall also meet the intent of ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees unless specifically authorized by the ANS Standards Board.

The JCNRM is responsible for the following standards projects:

ASME/ANS RA-S, "Standard for Level 1/Large Early Release Frequency Probabilistic Risk Assessment for Nuclear Power Plant Applications"

ANS/ASME-58.22, "Requirements for Low Power and Shutdown Probabilistic Risk Assessment"

ASME/ANS RA-S-1.2, "Severe Accident Progression and Radiological Release (Level 2) PRA Methodology to Support Nuclear Installation Applications" (previously ANS/ASME-58.24)

ASME/ANS RA-S-1.3, "Standard for Radiological Accident Offsite Consequence Analysis (Level 3 PRA) to Support Nuclear Installation Applications" (previously ANS/ASME-58.25)

ASME/ANS RA-S-1.4-2013, "Probabilistic Risk Assessment Standard for Advanced Non-LWR Nuclear Power Plants"

ASME/ANS RA-S 1.5, "Advanced Light Water Reactor PRA Standard"

Individuals interested in JCNRM standards projects may contact for information.

JCNRM Membership Roster

Robert J. Budnitz (Chair), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 
C. Rick Grantom (Chair), Individual
Dennis W. Henneke (Vice Chair), General Electric
Pamela F. Nelson (Vice Chair), National Autonomous University of Mexico 
Paul J. Amico, JENSEN HUGHES, Inc.
Victoria K. Anderson, Nuclear Energy Institute
George E. Apostolakis, Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry
Robert A. Bari, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Sidney A. Bernsen, Individual
James R. Chapman, Individual
Matthew Denman, Sandia National Laboratories
Mary T. Drouin, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Fernando Ferrante, Electric Power Research Institute
Raymond K. Fine, FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company
Karl N. Fleming, Individual
E. Alan Hackerott, Individual
Thomas G. Hook, Arizona Public Service
Eugene A. Hughes, ETRANCO, Inc.
Diane M. Jones, Maracor, A Division of Enercon Services, Inc.
Gerry W. Kindred, Tennessee Valley Authority
Sheigo Kojima, Individual
Stanley H. Levinson, Individual
Andrea Maioli, Westinghouse, Electric Co., LLC
James O'Brien, U.S. Department of Energy
Mayasandra K. Ravindra, Individual
Martin B. Sattison, Individual
Raymond E. Schneider, Westinghouse Electric Co., LLC
Barry D. Sloane, JENSEN HUGHES, Inc.
Cornelia Spitzer, International Atomic Energy Agency
Jeffrey L. Stone, Exelon Corporation
Douglas E. True, JENSEN HUGHES, Inc.
Donald J. Wakefield, ABS Consulting, Inc.
Ian B. Wall, Individual
James W. Young, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy

Last modified July 11, 2018, 10:57am CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.