American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Fuel, Waste, and Decommissioning Consensus Committee (FWDCC)

The FWDCC is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for the design, operation, maintenance, operator selection and training, quality requirements of new and used fuel transport, storage and related handling facilities; including high level/TRU, greater-than-Class C, low level, and mixed waste processing and facilities, and for the decommissioning of commercial, educational, research and government facilities. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The FWDCC oversees the following 3 subcommittees:

  • Decommissioning (Commercial & Research Facilities)
  • High Level, GTCC, Low Level, & Mixed Waste
  • New and Used Fuel (Design Only)

FWDCC Membership Roster

David W. Hillyer (Chair), Energy Solutions
Jean Francois Lucchini (Vice Chair), Los Alamos National Laboratory
Sven O. Bader, Orano
Jeffery R. Brault, Individual
Harry D. Felsher, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Donald Lewis, WECTEC
Coleman C. Miller, Pacific Gas & Electric Company
Mitchell Sanders, Individual
Steve W. Schlithelm, BWXT Nuclear Operations Group
Thomas Smedra, Westinghouse Electric Company
Maryanne E. Stasko, Duke Energy

Last modified February 20, 2020, 3:41pm CST