American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Research and Advanced Reactors Consensus Committee (RARCC)

The RARCC is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for the design, operation, maintenance, operator selection and training, and quality requirements for current and future research and test reactors including pulsed critical facilities, reactors used for the production of isotopes for industrial, educational, and medical purposes and current and advanced non-large LWRs. The scope includes but is not limited to: water-cooled and non-water cooled Small Modular Reactors, Generation III+ and IV reactors, and future non-light water cooled/moderated large commercial reactors.

The RARCC standards include but are not limited to the design and operation of the nuclear island, the balance of plant, and other systems within the plant boundary affecting safety and operations. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The RARCC oversees the following 2 subcommittees:

  • Advanced Initiatives
  • Operation of Research Reactors (previously ANS-15)

RARCC Membership Roster

George F. Flanagan (Chair), Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Bruce B. Bevard (Vice Chair), Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Thomas H. Newton (Vice Chair), National Institute of Standards & Technology
Alexander Adams, Jr., U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Amir Afzali, Southern Company
James K. August, Southern Company
Edward D. Blandford, Kairos Power LLC
Leslie P. Foyto, University of Missouri
Anthony Grenci, Salt River Project
Brian K. Grimes, Individual
David R. Lawson, U.S. Department of Energy
Mark A. Linn, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Jan Mazza, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Matthew J. Memmott, Brigham Young University
D. Sean O'Kelly, Idaho National Laboratory
Mark W. Peres, Fluor Corporation
Steven R. Reese, Oregon State University
Donald J. Spellman, Individual
Richard S. Turk, Individual
Anthony R. Veca, General Atomics

Last modified August 14, 2019, 12:25pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.