American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Environmental and Siting Consensus Committee (ESCC)

The ESCC is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for all aspects of nuclear power plant and non-reactor nuclear facility siting, environmental assessment, environmental management, environmental monitoring, and the categorization and evaluation of natural phenomena hazards at these public and private sector nuclear facilities.

Many of the ESCC standards presently support the siting and environmental needs of the civilian nuclear industry and the Department of Energy (DOE) in meeting 10 CFR 50, 10 CFR 51 and 10 CFR 52 licensing requirements and assisting with compliance to 40 CFR enabling regulations associated with the Clean Air Act, Clean Water Act, Safe Drinking Water Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act, Toxic Substances Control Act, and National Environmental Policy Act. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The ESCC oversees the following 5 subcommittees:

  • Environmental Impact Assessment & Analysis
  • General & Monitoring
  • Siting: Atmospheric
  • Siting: Hydrogeologic
  • Siting: Seismic

ESCC Membership Roster

Carl A. Mazzola (Chair), Project Enhancement Corporation
Jennifer Call (Vice Chair), Oasys, Inc
Thomas Bellinger, Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC
David Bruggeman, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Kevin Bryson, Individual
William Ebert, Argonne National Laboratory
Yan Gao, Individual
Brent Gutierrez, U.S. Department of Energy
R. Joe Hunt, Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC
Marsha Kinley, Duke Energy
Yong Li, Defense Nuclear Facility Safety Board
Kit Ng, Bechtel Power Corporation
James O'Brien, U.S. Department of Energy
Leah Parks, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Samuel Rosenbloom, U.S. Department of Energy
Jean Savy, Individual
Ali Simpkins, Oak Ridge Associated University
Jim Xu, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Last modified February 24, 2020, 7:58am CST