American Nuclear Society

Home / Meetings / National Meetings and Embedded Topicals

National Meetings and Embedded Topicals

"The 75th Anniversary of the Discovery of Nuclear Fission"
Washington, DC Omni Shoreham Hotel November 10-14, 2013
General Chair:

James Rogers (Duke Energy)

Assistant General Chairs:

Steven P. Nesbit (Director, Nuclear Policy & Support, Duke Energy)

James W. Behrens (US Navy - Retired)

Program Chair:

Linda Hansen (Argonne National Laboratory)

Assistant Program Chairs:

James J. Byrne (Byrne & Assoc. LLC)

Patrick J. Pinhero (Professor, University of Missouri/Columbia)

Martin Sattison (Department Manager, Idaho National Laboratory)


FREE WiFi! As a member of Omni's Select Guest® loyalty program, you will receive free high-speed in all public areas and in your guest room. This is just one of the many benefits of Omni's program that recognizes ANS attendees' personal travel preferences and delivers them during each stay.  If you are not a Select Guest member, sign up now ( - it's free too!

DEADLINES EXTENDED! Early registration and hotel reservation deadlines have been extended until October 25th! Register and book your hotel room today!
The Omni Shoreham Hotel, located at 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington, DC 20008, is the host hotel for the 2013 ANS Winter Meeting, where all meeting activities, technical sessions and embedded topical meetings will take place.

The special room rate for the meeting is: $269.00/night (single / double rate).

To make reservations copy and paste the following into your browser:

To make hotel reservations by phone call 800-545-8700. The ANS group code is: 12400611857

Attendees must identify themselves as part of the American Nuclear Society to receive the group rate.

Embedded Topical Meeting:

Risk Management for Complex Socio-Technical Systems [RM4CSS]
Honorary Chair:

George Apostolakis (Commissioner, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission)

General Chair:

Ronald A. Knief (Sandia National Laboratories)

Program Co-Chairs:

Zahra Mohaghegh (Assistant Professor, Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)

Ali Mosleh (Professor, Center for Risk and Reliability, University of Maryland)

Deputy Program Co-Chairs:

Kevin Coyne (U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission)

Rick Grantom (South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company)

Reza Kazemi (U.S. Food and Drug Administration)


Embedded Topical Meeting:

2nd ANS SMR 2013 Conference
General Chair:

Thomas L. Sanders (Associate Laboratory Director for Clean Energy Initiative, Savannah River National Laboratory)

Assistant General Chair:

Philip Moor (Vice President, High Bridge Associates)

Program Chair:

Vince Gilbert (Director, Knowledge Management, EXCEL Services Corporation)

Assistant Program Chair:

Mark Campagna (Senior Director, ABS Consulting)


Embedded Topical Meeting:

Young Professionals Congress - Saturday Program
General Chair:

Gale Hauck (Product Manager, Westinghouse)

Program Chair:

Peter Shaw (Licensing Engineer, Westinghouse Electric Company)



Embedded Topical Meeting:

Nuclear Nonproliferation - First Fission to the Future
General Chair:

Dr. John E. Gunning (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

Program Co-Chairs:

Jeffrey A. Chapman (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

R. Chris Robinson (Y-12)


Last updated November 27, 2013, 11:12am CST.