American Nuclear Society

Home / Meetings / Topicals and Executive Conferences

Topicals and Executive Conferences

Utility Working Conference and Vendor Technology Expo "Nuclear Sustainability - Rising to the Challenge."
Amelia Island, FL Omni Amelia Island Plantation August 9-12, 2015
General Chair:

Benjamin C. Waldrep (Harris Plant Vice President, Duke Energy)

Program Co-Chairs:

Shann D. Coleman (Manager, Strategic Nuclear Alliances and Variable Resources, Duke Energy)

Michael L. Spellman (Control Room Supervisor, Duke Energy)

Assistant Program Chair:

William H. Bishop (General Manager, Maintenance, PPL Susquehanna, LLC)


The 2015 Utility Working Conference & Vendor Technology Expo will be hosted at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort in Amelia Island, FL from August 9-12. All meeting activities, plenary sessions, technical sessions and exhibits and will be held at the hotel (unless otherwise noted).

For all the most up-to-date UWC information please make sure to visit our new website:

Make your room reservation now! The special group rate for the conference starts at $160+. A limited number of rooms are reserved at this rate.

Hotel Information:
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
39 Beach Lagoon Road
Amelia Island, Florida 32034

Book your Group Rate: Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort

Hotel phone number:  (904) 261-6161. If calling, please make sure to mention the "American Nuclear Society" or "Utility Working Conference" to receive the group rate.

Group Code: 080415UTILITYWO (If you do not use the link above, make sure to place the code into the "Group Code" box on the reservation page, or provide to the reservation agent).

Reservations must be made by Friday, July 17, 2015 , or before the group rooms are sold out, so do not delay. Prevailing hotel rates may apply after this date or when the group rooms are sold out, whichever occurs first.

Online Forms:

16th International Topical Meeting on Nuclear Reactor Thermal Hydraulics (NURETH-16)
Chicago, IL Hyatt Regency Chicago August 30-September 4, 2015
General Co-Chairs:

Michael L. Corradini (Professor, University of Wisconsin)

Hisashi Ninokata (Professor, Politecnico Di Milano)

Program Co-Chairs:

Xiaodong Sun (Associate Professor, The Ohio State University)

Hee Cheon No (Professor, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)

Nam T. Dinh (Professor, North Carolina State University)


Online Forms:

International Conference on Nuclear Criticality Safety, ICNC2015
Charlotte, NC Omni Charlotte Hotel September 13-17, 2015
Honorary Chair:

Elliott Whitesides (Retired, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

General Chair:

Robert Busch (University of New Mexico)

Assistant General Chair:

Sandi Larson (Atkins)

Co-Technical Program Chairs:

Michaele Brady Raap (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

Larry Wetzel (B&W Nuclear Operations Group)


The Omni Charlotte will be the location for the International Conference on Nuclear Criticality Safety. The Omni Charlotte is located at 132 E. Trade Street, Charlotte NC 28202.

Make your reservations now! The special rate for conference attendees is $159. the Government room rate is $110/per night.  A limited number of rooms are reserved at this rate. You may secure a room by booking online at the Omni Charlotte Hotel or by calling 800-THE-OMNI.Attendees must identify themselves as part of the American Nuclear Society to receive the group rate.

For Government Rate:  Omni Charlotte Hotel  Government Rate.

Reservations must be made by Tuesday, August 11, 2015. Prevailing rates may apply after this date or when the group rooms are sold out, whichever occurs first. Rooms are subject to availability.

Online Forms:

2016 International Congress on Advances in Nuclear Power Plants (ICAPP 2016)
San Francisco, CA Hyatt Regency San Francisco April 17-20, 2016
General Chair:

Neil Wilmshurst (Vice President and CNO, Electric Power Research Institute)

Program Chair:

Per Peterson (Professor, University of California, Berkeley)


ICAPP 2016 will be hosted at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, located at 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA. 

The group rate for this meetings is $259.00 plus tax (per night)

Reservations can be made online at Hyatt Regency San Francisco

11th International Conference on Tritium Science & Technology (TRITIUM 2016)
Charleston, SC Charleston Marriott April 17-22, 2016
General Chair:

Robert P. Addis (Director of Defense Programs Technology, Savannah River National Laboratory)

Program Chair:

James Klein (Advisory Engineer, Savannah River National Laboratory)

PHYSOR 2016 "Unifying Theory and Experiments in the 21st Century"
Sun Valley, ID May 1-5, 2016
General Chair:

Finis H. Southworth (Chief Technology Officer, AREVA Inc.)

Program Chair:

Mark DeHart (Senior Reactor Physicist, Idaho National Laboratory)

Assistant Program Chairs:

Todd Palmer (Professor of Nuclear Engineering, Oregon State University)

Kent Welter (Nuclear Safety Engineering Manager, NuScale Power)



Decommissioning and Remote Systems (D&RS 2016)
Pittsburgh, PA Sheraton Station Square July 31-August 4, 2016
General Chair:

Nick Liparulo (Senior Vice President, Westinghouse Electric Company)

Program Chair:

Jim Byrne (Byrne & Associates LLC)

Utility Working Conference and Vendor Technology Expo
Amelia Island, FL Omni Amelia Island Plantation August 14-17, 2016
General Chair:


Program Chair:


22nd Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy (TOFE)
Philadelphia, PA Sheraton at Society Hill August 22-25, 2016
General Co-Chairs:

Michael Williams (Associate Director Engineering and Infrastructure, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

Keith Rule (Senior Project Engineer, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

Program Chair:

Charles Gentile (Program Manager Tritium Operations, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

Top Fuel 2016
Boise, ID September 11-15, 2016
General Chair:

Kemal Pasamehmetoglu (Associate Laboratory Director, Idaho National Laboratory)

Program Co-Chairs:

Jon Carmack (National Technical Director, Idaho National Laboratory)

John Strumpell (Manager, R&D Fuel BU, US Region, AREVA)

Bridging the Gaps in Nuclear Non-Proliferation
Santa Fe, NM September 26-29, 2016
General Chair:

Michael C. Baker (Division Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Program Co-Chairs:

Heather Dion (Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Jill Cooley (Y-12)

Conference on Nuclear Training and Education (CONTE 2017)
Jacksonville, FL Hyatt Regency Jacksonville-Riverfront February 5-8, 2017
General Chair:

Julie Sickle (Vice President of Training, Exelon Generation)

Program Chairs:

Jane LeClair (Chief Operating Officer, National Cybersecurity Institute at Excelsior)

Gregg Ludlam (Training Director of Fleet Operations Training, Exelon Nuclear)

2017 International Topical Meeting on Probabilistic Safety Assessment and Analysis (PSA 2017)
Pittsburgh, PA September 24-28, 2017
General Chair:

Cindy Pezze (Vice President & Chief Technical Officer, Westinghouse Electric Company)

Assistant General Chair:

Melissa Lucci (Manager, Risk Applications and Methods-I, Westinghouse Electric Company)

Program Chair:

Andrea Maioli (Principal Engineer, Westinghouse Electric Company)


Last updated July 28, 2015, 8:02am CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.