American Nuclear Society

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) is the premier organization for those that embrace the nuclear sciences and technologies for their vital contributions to improving people’s lives and preserving the planet. Our membership consists of individuals from all walks of life, including engineers, doctors, students, educators, scientists, advocates, government employees, military personnel, and others. Celebrating its 70th anniversary in 2024, ANS is committed to advancing, fostering, and promoting the development and application of nuclear sciences and technologies to benefit society.

Discovery Education

Discovery Education is the worldwide edtech leader whose state-of-the-art digital platform supports learning wherever it takes place. Through its award-winning multimedia content, instructional supports, and innovative classroom tools, Discovery Education helps educators deliver quality learning experiences engaging all students and supporting higher academic achievement on a global scale. Discovery Education serves approximately 4.5 million educators and 45 million students worldwide, and its resources are accessed in over 140 countries and territories.

The U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy

The Office of Nuclear Energy’s mission is to advance nuclear energy, science, and technology to meet U.S. energy, environmental, and economic needs. To help ensure our nation’s youth have access to a valuable STEM resource, the office entered into a cooperative agreement with the American Nuclear Society in support of Navigating Nuclear: Energizing Our World’s high school and elementary school curriculum and provided expertise as part of the project’s content development team.


The American Nuclear Society thanks the following donors who have helped make the Navigating Nuclear: Energizing Our WorldTM program possible:


  • BWX Technologies
  • Carolinas Virginia Nuclear Power Associates
  • Entergy Nuclear
  • Exelon Generation
  • Indiana Michigan Power Company
  • NAC International
  • Westinghouse Electric Company


  • Sue Aggarwal
  • Leah Parks
  • Andrew Smetana


  • ANS Accelerator Applications Division
  • ANS Education, Training and Workforce Development Division
  • ANS Fusion Energy Division
  • ANS Robotics & Remote Systems Division

Last modified August 13, 2021, 2:26pm CDT