American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

2015 < > 2017
Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
Rizwan Uddin

Don Miller Award
Arndt Lindner

Dwight D. Eisenhower Award
Not Awarded

E. Gail de Planque Metal
Bernadette L. Kirk

Edward Teller Award
Not Awarded

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award
Dr. Luiz Carlos Leal,Dr. Mark L. Williams

Lifetime Achievement Award (FCWMD)
Benard Boullis

Significant Contributions Award (FCWMD)
Robert Jubin

Fellow of ANS
Mark DeHart,Temitope Taiwo,Terry Todd,Dr. Jess C. Gehin,Dr. Robert N. Hill,Dr. Alan S. Icenhour,Dr. Jose N. Reyes, Jr.,Dr. Akio Yamamoto

Gerald C. Pomraning Memorial Award
Not Awarded

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Peter B. Lyons

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Kurt A. Terrani

Leadership Award
Not Awarded

Local Sections Meritorious Award
Small Local Sections:
  • Best Membership – Northeastern New York
  • Best Meetings and Programs – Pittsburgh
  • Best Public Information – Oak Ridge/Knoxville
  • Best Section Management – Northeastern New York

Best Large Local Section:
Overall – Savannah River

Best International Section:
Overall – Japan

Mark Mills Award
Dr. Yinbin Miao

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award
Dr. Zahra Mohaghegh

Meritorious Performance in Operations Award
Advanced Test Reactor

Mishima Award
Brian Wirth

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
University of Missouri Research Reactor (MURR),Advanced Test Reactor (ATR) Complex

Presidential Citations
Darby S. Kimball,Stephen E. Kuczynski,Edward D. Kee,Nicholas Thompson,Daniel J. Curtis,

Radiation Science and Technology Award
Not Awarded

Ray Goertz Award
Frank M. Heckendorn, II

Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award
Larry R. Foulke, Gilbert J. Brown

Samuel Glasstone Award
University of Illinois Student Section (Best Section), University of Florida Student Section (Honorable Mention), University of Wisconsin – Madison Student Section (Honorable Mention)

Seaborg Medal
Dr. George H. Miley

Special Award
No topic selected

Standards Service Award
Andrew O. Smetana

Student Design Competition
Graduate: University of California Berkeley, Near-Term Deployment Viability of Liquid-Fuel Molten Salt Reactors, Sandra Bogetic, Andrew Greenop, Nils Haneklaus, Chris Poresky, Dan Shen, Advisor: Dr. Massimiliano Fratoni
(Winter) Sandra Bogetic, Andrew Greenop, Nils Haneklaus, Chris Poresky,Dan Shen Advisor: Dr. Massimiliano Fratoni

Undergraduate, Purdue University, Helium-3 Production Via Lithium Activation In An Accelerator-Driven Reactor, P. Dressman, A. Jassem, T. Kyle, R. Nicholson, S. Sanders, D. Toneff, Advisor: Prof. Chan K. Choi;
(Winter) P. Dressman, A. Jassem, T. Kyle, R. Nicholson, S. Sanders, D. Toneff Advisor: Prof. Chan K. Choi
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Design Report for the Molten-Chloride High Temperature Reactor (M-CHTR), Alex Gross, Andrew Maile, Jordan Rein, Advisor: Dr. John Murphy;
(Winter) Alex Gross, Andrew Maile, Jordan Rein,Advisor: Dr. John Murphy
Texas A&M University, VASIMR – Interfaced High Temperature GasCooled Fast Reactor for Advanced Space Applications (VARGAS), Joe Kelsey, Andrés Morell-Pacheco, Tyler Hughes, and Nick Whitman, Advisor: Dr. Pavel Tsvetkov
(Winter) Joe Kelsey, Andrés Morell-Pacheco, Tyler Hughes, and Nick Whitman Advisor: Dr. Pavel Tsvetkov

Technical Achievement Award
Dr. Nam Truc Dinh

Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
Not Awarded

Utility Achievement Award
Plant Hatch

Utility Leadership Award
Randall K. Edington

W. Bennett Lewis Award
Pablo Mulás

Walter H. Zinn Award
Regis Matzie

Young Member Excellence Award
Dr. Kathryn D. Huff

Last updated August 1, 2018, 12:57pm CDT.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.