American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Presidents

William E. Burchill

ANS President 2008-2009

Dr. William Burchill retired from a career in nuclear energy that spanned over 35 years focusing on nuclear safety.  He is a member of the ANS Nuclear Installations Safety; Education, Training, & Workforce Development; and Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Divisions.

Before retiring, he was an HTRI Professor and Department Head of Nuclear Engineering for five years at Texas A&M University. Prior to that, he spent five years as the Risk Management Director at Commonwealth Edison/Exelon Nuclear. 

Dr. Burchill’s career also included three years at Pennsylvania Power & Light and 25 years with Combustion Engineering (C-E), where his last position was Director, Operations and Field Engineering Services.

Dr. Burchill earned a B.S. in Metallurgical Engineering (Nuclear Option) from the Missouri School of Mines & Metallurgy, and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He also holds an M.S. in Management from the Hartford Graduate Center of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

He was given the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award, Department of Nuclear, Plasma and Radiological Engineering by UIUC, and in 2011 he was presented the Alumni Award for Distinguished Service from the College of Engineering at the UIUC.  He was presented the 2017 Leadership Award from ANS. 

He is a past chair of the International Nuclear Societies Council and is a member of the ANS Public Policy Committee.

Read Nuclear News from July 2008 for more on Bill.

Last modified December 12, 2018, 1:12pm CST