American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

International Committee

The International Committee shall encourage and develop plans pertaining to the role of the Society in increasing international relations potential affiliations, liaison, and cooperative agreements with other technical societies throughout the world, formation of local ANS Sections outside the United States where appropriate, and mechanisms to foster exchange of information on nuclear energy. In addition, the Committee shall cooperate with national societies outside the U.S. interested in designation as Affiliated National Societies, assisting them in the preparation of a petition, and in other organizational and operating procedures (see also R20.1).

This committee shall be composed of not fewer than twenty (20) nor more than forty (40) Fellows, Members, Emeritus, or Honorary Life Members, each appointed to a three (3) year term, with terms of approximately one-third (1/3) of these members expiring at the close of each Annual Meeting. In addition, the non-U.S. resident ANS Board members shall be ex officio members. At least one-half (1/2) of the members shall be non-U.S. residents, and non-U.S. resident members shall be selected so as to assure representation from as many countries as possible. Preference for non-U.S. resident members shall be given to non-U.S. local section chairs and ANS agreement society members who are also ANS members. The chair of the National Program Committee, or a representative designated by the chair, shall serve as an ex officio member. A designated representative from each ANS agreement society shall serve as a non-voting participant in this committee.

Committee Chair: Mimi Limbach

Staff Liaison: Valerie Vasilievas

International Committee Downloads and Links

International Committee Roster, 2016-2017

Last modified August 9, 2016, 11:05am CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.