American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

Accreditation Policy and Procedures Committee

This committee shall be responsible for developing policy, procedures, and criteria for accreditation of nuclear, radiological and similarly named academic programs in engineering and technology. It provides all interface activities for the American Nuclear Society to the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). The American Nuclear Society representatives to the ABET Board of Directors, the Engineering Accreditation Committee, and the Technology Accreditation Commission automatically serve as members of this committee.

The Committee shall be composed of at least six (6) Fellows, Members, Emeritus or Honorary Life Members, but no more than twelve (12) members. The membership shall consist of the chair and vice chair, and up to ten (10) additional members. The members will be appointed for three-year terms, with the terms of approximately one-third (1/3) of the members expiring at the close of each Annual Meeting. It is recommended that committee members have experience as program evaluators.

Committee Chair: Youssef Shatilla

Staff Liaison: John Fabian

Learn more about ANS members serving as ABET Program Evaluators (PEVs).

Last modified April 11, 2016, 4:12pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.