This panel session will recognize, and acknowledge, the Golden Anniversary of the NonProliferation Treaty (NPT) which entered into force 50 years ago in early 1970. A historical review will be given by distinguished individuals having familiarity with the treaty. Discussion will then turn to present day and include discussion regarding the future. Among the ANS professional divisions, the NNPD is clearly the logical sponsor for this important nuclear-based treaty which has added greatly to the safety and security of our nation and the world.


  • George P. Shultz (Hoover Institution, Stanford University)
  • Pete Lyons (DOE/Office of Nuclear Energy (Retired))
  • Mary Lou Dunzick-Gougar (Idaho State University)
  • Richard Meserve (Carnegie Institution for Science)
  • Sam Nunn (Nuclear Threat Initiative)
  • Sig Hecker (Stanford University)
  • John Hamre (Center for Strategic and International Studies)
  • Bill Ostendorff (U.S. Naval Academy)
  • Hash Hashemian (AMS Corp.)


To join the conversation, you must be logged in and registered for the meeting.

Register NowLog In