American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

2017 < > 2019
Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
James F. Stubbins, Prof. Paul Philip Hood Wilson
Early Career Reactor Physicist Award
Benjamin S. Collins, Massimiliano Fratoni
Fellow of ANS
Prof. James P. Blanchard, Mr. Jack D. Law, Dr. Jaakko Leppânen, Dr. Joseph Y.R. Rashid, Dr. Todd R. Allen, Dr. Roy A. Axford, Mr. Emory D. Collins, PE, Mr. Karl N. Fleming, Dr. Lin-Wen Hu, Dr. Jasmina L. Vujic
Landis Public Communication and Education Award
Prof. James F. Stubbins
W. Bennett Lewis Award
Prof. Frank L. Parker
Local Section Meritorious Award
  • Best Small Section – Michigan–Ohio, Public Information and Education
  • Best Small Section – Northeastern New York, Section Management
  • Best Small Section – Washington, DC, Membership and Meetings & Programs
  • Best Large Section – Savannah River, Overall

Mark Mills Award
Dr. Xiang Liu
Don Miller Award
Dr. Jin Jiang, Dr. Belle Upadhyaya
Mishima Award
Dr. Joseph Y.R. Rashid
Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
Transient Reactor Test (TREAT) Facility
Presidential Citations
French Local Section of the American Nuclear Society (SFANS)
Ted Quinn Early Career Award
Mr. Chad Kiger
Radiation Science and Technology Award
Prof. Ling-Jian Meng
Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award
Richard P. Coe
Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award
Prof. Nolan E. Hertel
Samuel Glasstone Award
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Best Section), Brigham Young University (2nd Place), University of New Mexico (2nd Place), University of Florida (Honorable Mention), University of Illinois (Honorable Mention), University of Wisconsin (Honorable Mention), and Virginia Commonwealth University (Honorable Mention)
Seaborg Medal
Prof. M.M.R. Williams
Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Dr. James T. Rhodes
Special Award
Not Awarded
Standards Service Award
Dr. Robert D. Busch
Student Design Competition
  • Purdue University - HYPER: Hydrogen Production Electrolysis Reactor; Students: Anna Biela, Chris Copeland, Antony Damico, Adam Darr, Robert Kile, Corey Ohneck; Advisor: Drs. Martin Bertodano and Chan Choi
  • University of Tennessee - Concept Reactor for Extraterrestrial Surface Power: PULSR; Students: Dan Floyd, Patrick Tidwell, Gavin Ridley, Walt Tebbs; Advisor: Dr. Laurence F. Miller; Advisor: Dr. Laurence F. Miller

  • University of Michigan - Multiplicity Counting of Distributed Sources for Safeguard Applications; Students: Lauren A. Finney, Stefano Marin, Christopher A. Meert, Tingshuan C. Wu, Jianxin Zhou; Advisor: Dr. Sara Pozzi
  • Colorado School of Mines - Design and Analysis of a Subcritical Assembly for On-Campus Nuclear Training and Education; Students: Cliff Ghiglieri, Hannah Grover, Joey Latta; Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey King

Technical Achievement Award
Dr. Si-Young Lee
Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
Robert W. Youngblood
Utility Achievement Award
Oyster Creek Nuclear Generating Station
Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Dr. Wade Marcum
Young Member Excellence Award
Mr. Brett D. Rampal
Walter H. Zinn Award
Brian K. Grimes - Consultant

Last updated January 14, 2020, 4:18pm CST.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.