American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

2012 < > 2014
Walker Lee Cisler Medal
Not Awarded

Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
Nicholas Tsoulfanidis

Distinguished Public Service Award
Not Awarded

Distinguished Service Award
Mimi Holland Limbach

Octave J. Du Temple Award
Antoinette (Toni) I. Bishop

Fellow of ANS
Nam Truc Dinh, Won Sik Yang, George F. Flanagan, Ali Mosleh, Thomas M. Sutton, Mark S. Tillack

Samuel Glasstone Award
University of Wisconsin (Best Section), Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (Honorable Mention)

Ray Goertz Award
Not Awarded

George C. Laurence Pioneering Award
Adolph Birkhofer

Leadership Award
Not Awarded

W. Bennett Lewis Award
Charles Till

Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award
Randy Edington

Local Sections Meritorious Award
Northeastern New York Local Section (BEST MEETINGS & PROGRAMS - Small),Connecticut Local Section (BEST PUBLIC INFORMATION- Small, & BEST SECTION MANAGEMENT- Small), Pittsburgh (BEST MEMBERSHIP – Small),Savannah River Local Section (BEST MEETINGS & PROGRAMS, & BEST PUBLIC INFORMATION– Large), Idaho Local Section (BEST MEMBERSHIP, & BEST SECTION MANAGEMENT - Large)

Don Miller Award
Dieter H. Wach and Julius J. Persensky

Mark Mills Award
Youngsuk Bang

Mishima Award
Not Awarded

Meritorious Performance in Operations Award
Oak Ridge National Laboratory High Flux Isotope Reactor

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
Atalante, NIST Center for Neutron Research

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award
Kirsten Laurin-Kovitz

Gerald C. Pomraning Memorial Award
Dr. John J. Dorning, Jr.

Landis Public Communication and Education Award
William H. Miller

Radiation Science and Technology Award
Not Awarded

Reactor Technology Award (Energy Society of Japan)
Not Awarded

Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award
J. Kenneth Shultis

Seaborg Medal
Harold M. Agnew

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Richard Meserve

Special Award
Richard Denning

Standards Service Award
Carl A. Mazzola

Student Design Competition
Graduate, University of Florida: Innovative Accident Tolerant UO2 Composite Fuel for use in LWRs Danny Permar, Andrew Cartas, Haitang Wang; University of Michigan - Cadmium Capture-gated Detector for Use as a Portal Monitor Marc Ruch, Alicia Salazar, Charles Sosa. Undergraduate, University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign - “DECAP” - Diesel Exhaust Cleaning with Atmospheric Plasma Stephen Kleppinger, David Peterson, Zachariah Shukur, Matthew Szott, Hyun Ho Yun, Erik Ziehm; University of California – Berkley - Accident Tolerant Refractory Metal Based Cladding for Light Water Reactors D.M. Frazer, M.D. Loff, A.F. Magyar, R.E. Meyer, D. Moon, J.L. Sabella, M.J. Szwabowski

Technical Achievement Award
Chang Oh

Edward Teller Award
James Hammer & Richard Petrasso

Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
Ali Mosleh

Samuel Untermyer II Award
Not Awarded

Utility Achievement Award

Utility Leadership Award
David Heler

Alvin M. Weinberg Medal
Pete Domenici

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award
Augusto Gandini

Young Members Advancement Award
Eric P. Loewen

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Beniot Forget

Young Member Excellence Award
Piyush Sabharwall

Walter H. Zinn Award
Loyd A. Wright

Last updated May 6, 2014, 3:38pm CDT.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.