American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

2009 < > 2011
Alvin M. Weinberg Medal
John W. Landis

Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
Kenneth D. Lewis

Distinguished Public Service Award
Not Awarded

Distinguished Service Award
Not Awarded

Don Miller Award
Robert E. Uhrig

Edward Teller Award
Not Awarded

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award
Not Awarded

George C. Laurence Pioneering Award
Bal-Raj Sehgal

Gerald C. Pomraning Memorial Award
Not Awarded

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Richard J. K. Stratford

Landis Public Communication and Education Award
Denis Beller

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Not Awarded

Leadership Award
Not Awarded

Local Sections Meritorious Award
Washington, DC Best Membership, Small,Virginia Best Meetings and Programs, Small,Trinity Best Public Information and Education

Mark Mills Award
Prashant K. Jain

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award
Sue Coleman

Meritorious Performance in Operations Award
Texas A&M Nuclear Science Center,University of Florida Text Reactor,Purdue University Reactor,Oregon State University,Washington State University Nuclear Reactor,University of Wisconsin Nuclear Reactor,Neutron Radiography Reactor

Mishima Award
Theodore M. Besmann

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
ZED-2 Heavy Water Critical Facility

Presidential Citations
Virginia D. Cleary, Samuel J. Collins, Donald R. Hoffman, Ross F. Radel

Radiation Science and Technology Award
Not Awarded

Ray Goertz Award
Not Awarded

Reactor Technology Award (Atomic Energy Society of Japan)
William Howard Arnoid

Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award
Ronald J. Bruno,Arthur H. Friedman,Timothy McGhee,Renee C. Milner,John Steiner,Peter Tocci, Jr.,Ann D. Winters

Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award
Nick Tsoulfanidis

Samuel Glasstone Award
University of Michigan (Best Section), University of Wisconsin- Madison (Best Section), Missouri University of Science & Technology (Honorable Mention), Texas A&M University (Honorable Mention)

Samuel Untermyer II Award
Not Awarded

Seaborg Medal
Not Awarded

Special Award
Ernest D. Eason, G. Robert Odette, Randy K. Nanstad, Takuya Yamamoto and Joyce E. Wright.
Advances in Predictive Science for Design and Analysis of Nuclear Reactors
Standards Service Award
Allen Camp,Thomas McLaughlin

Student Design Competition
Graduate, University of Michigan: Benjamin Betzler, Hiruy Hadgu, C. Lawrence, Matt Orians, Andrew Pavlou and A. Poitrasson-Riviere,University of Tennessee: Matthew Cook, Oscar Lastres, S. Hogle, Martin Grossbeck,Undergraduate,North Carolina State University: Justin Carey, J. Michael Doster, Jesse Holmes, Chris Long, Amber Smart, Josh West,University of Rhode Island: Michael Audette, Charlie Hanley, James Leuzarder, Daniel McCleary, Kevin Plourde

Technical Achievement Award
Per Peterson

Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
David J. Diamond

Utility Achievement Award
Kewaunee Power Station

Utility Leadership Award
Michael Kansler

W. Bennett Lewis Award
Georges Vendryes

Walker Lee Cisler Medal
Not Awarded

Walter H. Zinn Award
Not Awarded

Young Member Excellence Award
Arielle Jennifer Miller

Young Members Advancement Award
Not Awarded

Octave J. Du Temple Award
Not Awarded

Last updated May 8, 2017, 8:06am CDT.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.