American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

Professional Divisions Committee (PDC)

The Professional Divisions Committee is responsible for the conduct of ANS's Professional Divisions and Technical Groups. The committee cooperates with the individuals and groups interested in the formation and operation of Professional Divisions and Technical Groups.

Member Responsibilities:

  • Attend committee meetings at each of the national meetings and participate on conference calls as needed.
  • Identify, discuss, and implement ways to improve overall Professional Division operations through workshops on how to conduct Topical Meetings, development of knowledge transfer mechanisms (supporting officer succession), better use of ANS's electronic resources, and sharing of tools for planning and monitoring Professional Division health.
  • Evaluate applications to form, merge, or dissolve Divisions and Technical Groups, assisting them in the preparation of statements, petitions, rule, and procedures.
  • Coordinate Professional Division activities with the ANS student program; professional development for young Society members; and Society efforts regarding standards, public policy and communications.

Helpful Traits for Members:

  • Familiarity with and appreciation for the role, responsibilities and activities of Professional Divisions.
  • Desire to support Professional Divisions in helping to fulfill ANS's mission.

Committee Chair: Tom Remick

Staff Liaison: Valerie Vasilievas

Vice-Chairs: Hans Gougar and Deborah Hill

Professional Division Metrics Information Form

Current Standing Committee Liaisons to Professional Divisions Committee

Bylaws and Rules Darby Kimball
Membership Peter Caracappa
National Program Tom Remick
Professional Development Coordination Brian Collins
Public Information Rachel Slaybaugh
Public Policy Paul Wilson
Publication Steering Alireza Haghighat

Last modified July 18, 2019, 2:10pm CDT