Nomination Deadline

August 1

Presented at the

Winter Meeting

Monetary Award*



The Reactor Technology Award recognizes an individual(s) who have made original and outstanding contributions to the advancement of reactor technology. The award should emphasize recognition of advances in the areas of design and safety in reactor technology.

The nominee should be the author of one or more peer-reviewed original technical papers or patents contributing to the advancement of reactor technologies.

Nominees may be from any nation, but they must not be deceased at the time the awardee is selected. The nominee need not be an ANS member.

The award consists of a plaque and a $2,000 monetary award*. It is to be made no more frequently than once per year, and it is normally conferred during the Winter Meeting of the Society.

*In lieu of a cash award, recipients can opt for travel reimbursement up to the award amount.


This award was established in 1993 at the request of the Atomic Energy Society of Japan with $30,000 in earnings received from the ANP 1992 Topical Meeting.

Selection Method

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications (if applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support recommended but not required (no more than five)

The selection committee consists of seven (7) members – six (6) from the Honors and Awards Committee and one (1) from Atomic Energy Society of Japan, appointed by AESJ. They review the nominations and make their recommendation to the chair of the Honors and Awards Committee. If the committee determines that there is no candidate of sufficient merit, the committee may recommend that the award not be made in that year.

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

View Award