American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Edward Teller Award

View Recipients

Download Nomination Form

This award was established in June 1999 to be presented as an ANS Division award. The Teller Award was established previously by the conference series formerly called Laser Interaction and Related Plasma Phenomenon (LIRPP). It is presently funded by an endowment fund established by the Fusion Energy Division of ANS.

The Edward Teller Award recognizes pioneering research and leadership in the use of laser and ion-particle beams to produce unique high-temperature and high-density matter for scientific research and for controlled thermonuclear fusion.

The award is normally presented at the International Conference on Inertial Fusion Science Applications (IFSA) during odd years.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required, no more than five)

Nomination Deadline: March 1 Presented: Biennially at International Conference on Inertial
Fusion Science Applications (IFSA)

Monetary Award: $2,000

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

Hard copies can be mailed to:
Honors and Awards
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535


Last updated January 19, 2017, 9:31am CST.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.