American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

2003 < > 2005
Alvin M. Weinberg Medal
Mihail Balanescu

Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
Paul J. Turinsky

Distinguished Public Service Award
Not Awarded

Edward Teller Award
Not Awarded

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award
Richard N. Hwang

George C. Laurence Pioneering Award
Not Awarded

Gerald C. Pomraning Memorial Award
Not Awarded

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Joseph M. Hendrie

Landis Public Communication and Education Award
Alan E. Waltar

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Truc-Nam Dinh

Leadership Award
Not Awarded

Local Sections Meritorious Award
Virginia Best Membership, Small,Savannah River Best Meetings and Programs, Small,Savannah River Best Public Information and Education, Small,Virginia Best Section Management, Small,Idaho Best Overall, Large,France Best Meetings and Programs, International,France Best Section Management, International

Mark Mills Award
Weijun Guo

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award
Not Awarded

Meritorious Performance in Operations Award
Not Awarded

Mishima Award
J. Stephen Herring

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
USS Nautilus, Groton, Connecticut Approved February,Cogema La Hague Plant Approved September

Presidential Citations
Samim Anghaie, Herbert M. Fontecilla, John P. Gutteridge, Brian K. Hajek, Atambir S. Rao, Theodore Rockwell

Radiation Science and Technology Award
George H. Miley

Ray Goertz Award
Paul Bacca

Reactor Technology Award (Atomic Energy Society of Japan)
Not Awarded

Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert W. Roussin

Samuel Glasstone Award
University of Wisconsin-Madison (Best Student Section), University of Florida (Best Student Section), Rensselar Polytechnic Institute (Honorable Mention), University of Missouri-Rolla (Honorable Mention)

Seaborg Medal
Siegfried S. Hecker

Special Award
Not Awarded
Closing the Divide Between Nuclear Power and the Public
Standards Service Award
Charles H. Moseley

Student Design Competition
Graduate, University of Michigan: Jeremy Conlin, Chris Kirby, Kevin Lynn,Undergraduate,Georgia Institute of Technology: V.L. Beavers, W.A. Casino, J.R. Cheatham, Z.W. Friis, R.D.Green, W.R. Hamilton, K.W. Haufler, J.D. Hutchinson, R.A. Lorio, J.W. Maddox, A.A. Manzoor, M.R. Terry,University of Florida: Christian F. Acosta, Bobby Ahmed, Jorge Weir,University of Tennessee: Tyler Cornell, Ryan Giar, Youssef Sharara, Scott Outten, Igor Petrusky

Technical Achievement Award
Yassin A. Hassan

Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
Mario H. Fontana

Utility Achievement Award
South Texas Project, STP Nuclear Operating Company

Utility Leadership Award
Joe Sheppard STP Nuclear Operating Company

Walker Lee Cisler Medal
Peter Murray

Walter H. Zinn Award
Harold B. Ray

Last updated May 28, 2019, 12:48pm CDT.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.