American Nuclear Society welcomes Senate confirmation of NRC Chair Christopher Hanson as Member of U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

June 4, 2024, 12:02PMPress Releases

Washington, D.C. — The American Nuclear Society (ANS) CEO and Executive Director Craig Piercy issued the following statement:

“The American Nuclear Society commends the Senate for confirming the renomination of Christopher T. Hanson as Chair of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. We look forward to Chair Hanson’s continued leadership in ensuring the safe and efficient operation of our existing nuclear power plants and in developing a robust licensing framework for new nuclear technologies. The NRC is vital in ensuring the safe use of nuclear technology for zero-carbon energy, cancer detection and treatment, food safety, and more.”