Eleven countries newly elected to IAEA board

September 23, 2021, 3:00PMANS Nuclear Cafe

Eleven countries have been newly elected to serve on the 35-member board of governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency for the period 2021–2022. The election took place on September 23 during the plenary session of the 65th IAEA General Conference, in Vienna, Austria. The conference started on September 20 and will run through September 24.

New members: The newly elected board members are Burundi, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Finland, Guatemala, Ireland, Libya, Pakistan, Slovenia, South Korea, and Vietnam.

Board of governors: For the 2021–2022 period, the composition of the IAEA board will be as follows: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Burundi, Canada, China, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Japan, Libya, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, the Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam.

Officers to come: The board will meet on September 27 to elect its officers.

Related Articles

The big nuclear world

November 3, 2021, 7:01AMANS News

As I write this column, it’s late September, and I’m sitting in Dulles Airport waiting for my connecting flight back to Charlotte from Vienna, Austria, where I attended the 65th General...