ANS congratulates award recipients during President’s Special Session

June 9, 2020, 2:02PMANS News

American Nuclear Society President Marilyn Kray recognized recipients of four ANS awards on June 9 during the 2020 ANS Virtual Annual Meeting. The following awards were presented as part of the ANS President’s Special Session.

Presidential Citation

Presented to the Young Members Group, for outstanding leadership in generating digital content and creating value for the Society.


Distinguished Service Award

Presented to John S. Bennion of GE Hitachi, ANS member since 1995, in recognition of his lifelong service to increase public understanding of nuclear science and engineering by promoting the importance of professional licensure at the section, division, and national level.


Leadership Award

Presented to Rebecca L. Steinman of Exelon Generation, ANS member since 1994, in recognition of her unwavering commitment and continuous drive toward excellence in the area of increasing public understanding of nuclear science and engineering by contributing to the work of professional associations, schools, and the professional, scientific, and technical press.


Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award

Presented to Siegfied S. Hecker of Stanford University, ANS member since 2004, for sustained international leadership involving nuclear technologies, including the U.S.-Russian Lab-to-Lab Program, which prevented “brain drain” of scientists after the collapse of the Soviet Union.

The Presidential Citation, Distinguished Service Award, and Leadership Award were presented by Kray, while the Nuclear Statesman Award is cosponsored by the Nuclear Energy Institute and was presented by NEI’s President and Chief Executive Officer Maria G. Korsnick.

Related Articles

Looking Back at 2022—ANS

January 3, 2023, 12:00PMNuclear News

Another calendar year has passed. Before heading too far into 2023, let’s look back at what happened in 2022 for the American Nuclear Society and the nuclear community. In posts that will...