ANS member Joyce Connery appointed as DNFSB chair

January 25, 2021, 9:30AMNuclear News

President Biden has appointed Joyce Connery as chair of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB). Connery, an ANS member since 2012, was appointed to the board in August 2015 for a term ending in October 2019. She was confirmed again by the Senate as a DNFSB member on July 2, 2020, for a term expiring on October 18, 2024. Connery previously held the chairmanship from August 2015 until January 2017.

Background: Connery has had an extensive career in the fields of nuclear security, safety, nonproliferation, and energy policy. She began her career at the national laboratories, first serving in Kazakhstan working on the shutdown of the BN-350 fast-breeder reactor and then returning to Washington, D.C., to work in the Office of International Safety in the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration. She has served in several capacities at the DOE, including as the senior policy advisor to the deputy secretary of energy. She also served on the National Security Council from February 2008 through May 2010 in the area of nonproliferation and nuclear security, and from January 2012 through July 2015 as director for nuclear energy policy within the NSC’s Office of International Economics.

Related Articles