Susan Eisenhower congratulates Peter Lyons on award

June 10, 2020, 11:53AMNuclear News



Susan Eisenhower has issued a letter congratulating Peter B. Lyons, the 2020 recipient of the ANS Eisenhower Medal. Lyons, ANS Fellow and member since 2003, was honored during the award ceremony segment of the opening plenary of the 2020 ANS Virtual Annual Meeting. Attendees can view the presentation via the ANS meeting portal.

Eisenhower’s letter reads as follows:

I am delighted that Dr. Pete Lyons has been awarded the ANS Eisenhower Medal for his exceptional work in the nuclear field. It has been an honor and a personal pleasure to have worked with Pete over the years, and I can attest to the fact that he was in critical policy roles at key times when it truly mattered. His legacy as an advocate of nuclear power will long be remembered. I could not be prouder of the fact that Pete Lyons will forever be associated with Dwight Eisenhower's name through this prestigious award.

Susan Eisenhower

June 8, 2020

A high honor: The Eisenhower Medal is awarded to individuals in recognition of outstanding leadership in public policy for nuclear science and technology or outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear nonproliferation. It was established in 2014 by the Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division and was elevated to the status of a top-tier ANS award in 2018.

Related Articles

Looking Back at 2022—ANS

January 3, 2023, 12:00PMNuclear News

Another calendar year has passed. Before heading too far into 2023, let’s look back at what happened in 2022 for the American Nuclear Society and the nuclear community. In posts that will...