ANS congratulates award recipients during 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

June 8, 2020, 7:31PMANS News

The recipients of four American Nuclear Society awards were recognized Monday during the opening plenary session of the 2020 ANS Virtual Annual Meeting. Hussein S. Khalil, Honors and Awards Committee chair, virtually presented each award in succession.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal

Presented to Peter B. Lyons, ANS Fellow and member since 2003, former assistant secretary for nuclear energy at the Department of Energy, in recognition of his influential and prominent leadership in nuclear technology policy spanning five decades and for the vital role he played in the nuclear renaissance of the early 21st century.


Walter H. Zinn Medal

Presented to William E. Burchill, ANS past president (2008–2009) and member since 1970, retired Nuclear Engineering Department head at Texas A&M University, for major research contributions in materials corrosion and degradation processes in nuclear energy systems, and for impact on the nuclear industry through the development of improved fuel cladding concepts as well as education and mentorship of undergraduate and graduate students.


Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award

Presented to Janelle P. Wharry, of Purdue University, in recognition of her development of innovative methods for mechanical testing of materials under extreme radiation environments.


Mishima Award

Presented to Rudolph Johannes Maria Konings, of the European Commission Joint Research Center, for numerous and pioneering achievements furthering the understanding of nuclear fuels.

Related Articles