Meet the 2024 candidates for ANS vice president/president-elect and the Board of Directors

November 3, 2023, 1:55PMNuclear News

Candidates have been nominated for the 2024 American Nuclear Society national election. Terms will begin in June 2024, following the Annual Meeting. The six national positions open are vice president/president-elect and five seats on the Board of Directors—four U.S. members at-large and one Young Member. Ballots will be sent electronically on Tuesday, February 20, 2024, and must be submitted by 1:00 p.m. (EDT) on Tuesday, April 9, 2024.

Hash Hashemian

Sandra Sloan

Vice president/President-elect candidates: Candidates for the one-year term as vice president/president-elect are Sandra Sloan and Hash Hashemian. The elected candidate will succeed current ANS vice president/president-elect Lisa Marshall next June when Marshall assumes the position of ANS president.

Sandra Sloan is director of systems engineering and integration, BWXT Advanced Technologies LLC. She has been an ANS member since 1990 and has held a number of positions and division memberships during that time. She is a past Board member and is currently active on the Honors & Awards and Executive Committees.

Hash Hashemian, president and chief executive officer of AMS Corporation, has been an ANS member since 1976. He was named a Society Fellow in 2014, and has been active in his membership, serving on several ANS committees, maintaining division memberships, and chairing meetings.

Board of Directors candidates: Eight candidates have been nominated to fill the open director-at-large seats on the Board, and two have been nominated to fill the Young Member seat. ANS members elected to the Board of Directors serve three-year terms. Below are the director-at-large candidates:

Elizabeth Sooby, associate professor, University of Texas– San Antonio

J. Wesley Hines, Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished Postelle Professor, University of Tennessee–Knoxville

Leah Parks, environmental scientist, Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Gale Hauck, senior advisor to the assistant secretary for nuclear energy, Department of Energy; senior R&D staff for innovative nuclear reactors, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Chris Perfetti, associate professor, University of New Mexico

Assel Aitkaliyeva, associate professor, University of Florida

Bradley Adams, former vice president of engineering, Southern Nuclear; nuclear executive (retired)

Monica Regalbuto, director of the Integrated Fuel Cycle Initiative, Idaho National Laboratory

The following are the candidates for the Young Member director seat:

Matthew Wargon, MCRE Reactivity Control Group lead, TerraPower

Timothy Crook, director of business development, Blue Wave AI Labs

Related Articles

Annual Conference 2024: Know before you go

June 14, 2024, 6:52AMANS News

The American Nuclear Society’s 2024 Annual Conference starts this Sunday, June 16. We are looking forward to welcoming more than 1,000 members of the nuclear community in Las Vegas. This...

ANS 2024 election is underway

March 18, 2024, 9:30AMANS News

The American Nuclear Society election for 2024 is now open, and members can vote for the Society’s next vice president/president-elect as well as four U.S. members-at-large and one young...

2023 ANS election results are in

April 19, 2023, 4:08PMANS News

The month of April, for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere, is a time for transformation and growth as we emerge from the depths of winter—and it is also the time we learn of the newest...