Lyons selected for Eisenhower Medal

June 1, 2020, 1:08PMANS News


Peter B. Lyons, ANS Fellow and member since 2003, is set to receive the Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal in a virtual award ceremony presentation held June 8 during the 2020 ANS Virtual Annual Meeting. Lyons is being recognized for his influential leadership in nuclear technology policy over five decades and for the vital role he played in the nuclear renaissance of the early 21st century.

A distinguished career: During his career, Lyons worked at Los Alamos National Laboratory, as a commissioner of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and as assistant secretary for nuclear energy in the Department of Energy. In 1997, after nearly three decades at LANL, Lyons joined the staff of Sen. Pete Domenici (R., N.M.) as a scientific advisor. In that role he crafted Domenici’s “A New Nuclear Paradigm” speech, which set a foundation for the resurgence of nuclear power in the United States.

Lyons also helped Domenici lay the groundwork for the Nuclear Energy Research Initiative and the Generation IV Nuclear Energy Systems program. At the DOE, Lyons championed efforts to secure federal funding for small modular reactor development and for the Nuclear Energy University Program, among many other contributions to the future of nuclear energy.

A high honor: The Eisenhower Medal is awarded to individuals in recognition of outstanding leadership in public policy for nuclear science and technology or outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear nonproliferation. It was established in 2014 by the Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division and was elevated to the status of a top-tier ANS award in 2018.

Related Articles

ANS names Winter Meeting award winners

October 2, 2020, 9:30AMANS News

The American Nuclear Society has named the recipients of seven awards that will be presented during the 2020 ANS Virtual Winter Meeting, which begins on November 16....

Seven new ANS Fellows named

October 2, 2020, 8:38AMANS News

American Nuclear Society Fellows hold the highest grade of membership in the Society. The following new Fellows will be recognized on November 16 during the opening plenary session of the 2020...