Dr. Elia Merzari, ANS Thermal Hydraulics Division win Young Members Group awards

September 19, 2012, 6:20AMANS Nuclear Cafe

The American Nuclear Society's Young Members Group (YMG) has announced the recipients of the 2012 ANS Young Members Advancement Award and the ANS Young Members Excellence Award.

ANS Thermal and Hydraulics Division

The recipient of the Young Members Advancement Award is ANS's Thermal and Hydraulics Division (THD), which receives the award for demonstrating strong support of YMG activities over the past several years.

Since 2006, the THD has been collaborating with the YMG to organize an annual research competition for young members: the Thermal Hydraulics Young Professional Research Competition. This competition has enjoyed continued success over the years, and has been one of the key events in the technical program within the THD. The competition also promotes the exchange of information and ideas between experienced and young professionals and has created an informal, but very effective, mentoring program.


Dr. Elia Merzari

The 2012 Young Members Excellence Award has gone to Dr. Elia Merzari, who has been recognized for his technical accomplishments, volunteer contributions to ANS, and dedication to expanding opportunities for young member involvement.

Merzari's technical accomplishments include internationally recognized work on demonstrating the applicability of advanced computational fluid dynamics methods to the analysis of a variety of advanced reactor fuel assembly designs, and 14 published articles in referenced journals thus far in his early career.

Merzari's ANS volunteer activities include working with the THD as a session organizer, session chair, and paper reviewer, and working with the YMG as secretary. His contribution to the advancement of young members includes undertaking the revitalization of the THD's Young Members Paper Contest, and expanding the contest from a single entry to two full sessions at ANS winter meetings.

Please join us in congratulating the THD and Dr. Merzari for their accomplishments and thanking them for their contributions to the YMG!

Do you know someone who is deserving of these awards? It's never too early to think about next year's nominations. Visit the ANS Honors and Awards page and contact Tim Gnadt for more information.


Related Articles

The YMG examines nuclear entrepreneurship

October 24, 2022, 11:50AMANS News

This year, Nuclear Science Week was October 17–21, and the ANS Young Members Group celebrated by hosting the virtual event “Nuclear Entrepreneurship” on October 18. Panelists were Per...