NRC names new director for operations

October 5, 2021, 2:40PMNuclear News


Daniel H. Dorman has been chosen as the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s next executive director for operations, effective October 10. He succeeds Margaret M. Doane, who leaves the agency October 8 to take a senior position with the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Dorman currently serves as the NRC’s deputy executive director for reactor and preparedness programs, which includes oversight of all four of the agency’s regional offices.

“Dan has admirably served the NRC for more than 30 years in key leadership positions,” said NRC chairman Christopher T. Hanson. “He is someone who keenly understands the needs of our agency and our people. Dan is a problem solver, a champion for agency modernization and innovation, and has proven through results his ability to rally our staff for a common purpose. He has earned the respect of our workforce, the NRC leadership, and the agency’s diverse stakeholders.”

Resume: Dorman joined the NRC in 1991 as a project engineer in the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation. In 1999, he was selected as a section chief in the office’s Division of Inspection Program Management.

Since joining the Senior Executive Service in 2001, Dorman has served in a number of senior management positions, including director of the Division of Security Operations in the Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response, and deputy office director of the Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards. In 2012, he was appointed deputy director for engineering and corporate support in the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation. Two years later, he was named regional administrator for Region I.

Prior to joining the NRC, Dorman served as a submarine officer in the U.S. Navy’s nuclear power program with a subspecialty in joint intelligence operations. He holds a bachelor’s degree in naval architecture and marine engineering from the Webb Institute.

Dorman received the NRC’s Meritorious Service Award in 1998 and the Presidential Rank Meritorious Executive Award in 2008.

Related Articles