2020 ANS Virtual Winter Meeting: ANS honors more award recipients during President’s Special Session

November 18, 2020, 12:01PMANS News

American Nuclear Society President Mary Lou Dunzik-Gougar recognized four Presidential Citation recipients and the Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award winner on November 18 during the 2020 ANS Virtual Winter Meeting. The following awards were presented as part of the ANS President’s Special Session.

Presidential Citations


Presented to Kristine L. Svinicki, ANS member since 1988 and chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, for demonstrated leadership in transforming the NRC during the ongoing COVID-19 public health emergency into a global leader in demonstrating adaptive, flexible, and innovative approaches to nuclear regulation without a compromise to safety.


Presented to Leah Spradley Parks, ANS member since 2006 and NRC risk analyst, for outstanding leadership and efforts in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts within the nuclear community.


Presented to Dan Gabriel Cacuci, ANS member since 1978 and endowed chair professor and director of the Center for Nuclear Science and Energy at the University of South Carolina, for over 30 years of dedicated leadership and service as the editor of ANS peer-reviewed journal Nuclear Science and Engineering from 1986 through 2019.


Presented to Rita Baranwal, ANS member since 2008 and assistant secretary for nuclear energy in the Department of Energy, for the vision and leadership to drive the transformation of nuclear science and energy programs, especially the demonstration and deployment of advanced U.S. reactors, and for dedication to public service and unwavering commitment to the use of nuclear technology for the betterment of humankind.

Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award


To Kevin R. O'Kula, ANS member since 1976 and consulting engineer for Amentum Technical Services, for demonstrated leadership, professionalism, and dedication for more than 38 years in the field of nuclear engineering, supporting all aspects of Department of Energy and Nuclear Regulatory Commission activities. He has authored more than 40 papers and provided technical leadership to numerous ANS programs and conferences. He is an industry expert in the areas of nuclear facility source term evaluations, probabilistic and quantitative risk assessment and severe accident analysis, accident and consequence analysis, source term evaluation, hydrogen safety, software quality assurance and safety.

Related Articles

Recap: The 2023 ANS Winter Meeting

December 6, 2023, 3:03PMNuclear News

The American Nuclear Society’s 2023 Winter Meeting and Expo opened on November 12, and its packed opening plenary the next day generated a lot of buzz. Featured speakers included West...