New ANS vice president/president-elect, board members elected

April 27, 2022, 3:01PMANS News


The results of the 2022 ANS national election are in. The next vice president/president-elect will be Kenneth Petersen, recently retired from Constellation (formerly Exelon Generation). In addition, five new members were elected to the Board of Directors, and 12 proposed changes to the ANS bylaws and rules were approved.

Petersen will succeed current ANS vice president/president-elect Steven Arndt, who will assume the office of president following the upcoming ANS Annual Meeting. The current president, Steven Nesbit, will remain on the board for a one-year term as immediate past president.

“I am honored that the ANS members elected me as their next vice president/president-elect at this exciting time for nuclear technology," Petersen said. "The nuclear community is at a point where the full potential of nuclear technology can be realized. Nuclear is being recognized for its clean air and zero-carbon, baseload power attributes, while SMRs and advanced reactors are gearing up for deployment.”






Board members: The four U.S. members elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors are Jamie Coble, of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville; Shaheen Dewji, of the Georgia Institute of Technology; Christina Leggett, of Booz Allen Hamilton; and Daniel Stout, of the Tennessee Valley Authority. Carlos Gho, vice president of Conuar S.A. (Argentine Nuclear Fuels), was elected to a two-year term as the non-U.S. member of the Board.

The newly elected vice president/president-elect and board members will begin their terms on June 16 during the 2022 ANS Annual Meeting, to be held in Anaheim, Calif., the first Annual Meeting to be held in person since 2019.

Bylaws changes: All 12 proposed changes to the ANS bylaws and rules (detailed in a March Newswire article) were approved by the members. These changes represent the completion of the actions required of the ANS leadership and staff as a result of the ANS Change Plan 2020. Most of the changes to the bylaws were approved by over 90 percent of the members who voted.

ANS used a new electronic election system this year, and, judging by the lack of requests for help accessing the ballot, the voting process went more smoothly than in past years. Turnout for the 2022 election was on par with recent elections, with just over 22 percent of eligible voters submitting a ballot.

Related Articles

Nuclear: Building enthusiasm at COP27

November 22, 2022, 12:05PMNuclear News

Nuclear energy is no longer on the fringes of the international climate conversation. At COP27, the United Nations climate change conference held in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt, from November 6 to...

ANS commits to open research publishing

September 13, 2022, 12:02PMANS News

After more than a year of discussion and planning, American Nuclear Society Executive Director/CEO Craig Piercy recently signed an agreement with open research (OR) publisher F1000 (a...

ANS names 2023 Congressional Fellows

September 8, 2022, 9:31AMANS News

For the first time in the 23-year history of the Glenn T. Seaborg Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship, the American Nuclear Society has selected two members to spend a year as...