Candidates nominated for 2021 ANS national election

October 8, 2020, 3:00PMANS News

Candidates have been named to fill seven ANS leadership positions with terms beginning in June 2021.



The candidates for a one-year term as vice president/president-elect are Steven A. Arndt and Corey McDaniel. Arndt, ANS Fellow and member since 1981, is a senior technical advisor with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and McDaniel, ANS member since 2008, is chief commercial officer and director of industry engagement at Idaho National Laboratory.

The elected candidate will succeed current ANS Vice President/President-Elect Steven Nesbit in June 2021, when Nesbit becomes president.



The candidates for a two-year term as treasurer are Ray Klann and W. A. “Art” Wharton III. Klann, ANS member since 1991, is a senior scientist and group lead in the National Security Directorate at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, and Wharton, ANS member since 2004, is a vice president at Studsvik Scandpower. Wharton, currently serving as treasurer, is running for a second term.

ANS members elected to the Board of Directors serve three-year terms that begin and end during an ANS Annual Meeting. In the 2021 election, with the recent change to ANS Bylaws to add a Young Member director, there are four U.S. director-at-large positions and one U.S. Young Member director-at-large position to be filled.

The 10 candidates who have been nominated to fill four U.S. director-at-large seats are Harsh Desai, Nuclear Energy Institute; Julie Ezold, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Jess Gehin, Idaho National Laboratory; Kathryn Huff, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Jeff King, Colorado School of Mines; Stephen LaMont, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Jean-Francois Lucchini, Los Alamos National Laboratory; John Mahoney, High Expectations International; Jessika Rojas, Virginia Commonwealth University; and Tracy Stover, Savannah River Nuclear Solutions.

Nominated to run for the U.S. Young Member director position are Benjamin Holtzman, Nuclear Energy Institute, and Catherine Prat, Westinghouse Electric Company.

Directors with terms ending in June 2021 are Harsh Desai, Miriam Kreher (student director), Thomas Remick, Rebecca Steinman, Paul Wilson, and Akio Yamamoto.

The Nominating Committee for the 2021 election was chaired by Immediate Past President Marilyn Kray and included Local Sections Committee Chair Shikha Prasad, Professional Divisions Committee Chair Deborah Hill, Andrew Klein, Kathy McCarthy, David Pointer, Andrew Sowder, and Rebecca Steinman.

Members may also nominate candidates by petition for officer and director vacancies. Acceptable petitions must contain the original signature of 200 or more ANS voting members, have the nominee’s written consent, and reach ANS headquarters no later than January 11, 2021.

Ballots for the 2021 election will be sent electronically on February 22, 2021, and must be submitted by 1:00 p.m. (EDT) on Tuesday, April 13, 2021.

Related Articles

Don't forget to vote!

All ANS members are eligible to vote on the open leadership positions.

March 3, 2021, 3:00PMANS News

The 2021 ANS Election is open. This is your chance to help shape the future of your Society.All ANS members were sent an email on February 22 with a unique username and password from Survey...

ANS Task Force: Accelerating nuclear R&D investment is key to securing America’s clean energy future

Strategic federal investment in nuclear research and development is needed to rapidly deploy cost-­effective, flexible energy choices for a zero-­carbon future while strengthening national security and the economy.

February 17, 2021, 11:58AMNuclear News

The ANS Task Force on Public Investment in Nuclear Research and Development has just issued a report titled “The U.S. Nuclear R&D Imperative.” Visit to learn...

Candidates for ANS vice president offer statements

This is the first in a four-part series spotlighting the candidates for the upcoming 2021 ANS national election. Seven leadership positions are on the ballot.

February 12, 2021, 7:01AMANS NewsANS board, ANS vice president

Today we feature statements from the nominees for vice president/president-elect. The nominees are Steven A. Arndt, an ANS Fellow and member since 1981, who is a senior technical advisor with...

The new normal?

January 6, 2021, 6:55AMANS Nuclear Cafe

Happy New Year! I sincerely hope that each of you found time to refresh and rejuvenate over the holidays, or at least have fun. Many indicators suggest that 2021 will be a better year than...