American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Edward McGaffigan Jr. honored with Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award

Edward McGaffigan Jr., Commissioner of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), is the recipient of the 2007 Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award. He is being honored today during the Nuclear Energy Assembly held in Miami, Florida.

With more than 30 years of federal service, McGaffigan was appointed to the NRC twice by President Clinton in 1996 and 2000 and most recently by President Bush in 2005. His work with the commission has focused on enhancing security for licensees and improving the commission's processes to be more efficient and effective as the nuclear renaissance unfolds. McGaffigan is the longest serving commissioner in the NRC's history and was honored with the NRC's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award in 2006.

Established in 1972 by the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) the Smyth award recognizes outstanding service in the development and safe management of nuclear energy science. It was named after Henry DeWolf Smyth to commemorate a lifetime's achievement. Smyth was a Princeton University physicist, he served on the Atomic Energy Commission from 1949-54 and was a U.S. representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

"Past recipients of the Henry DeWolf Smyth Award comprise a distinguished cadre of exceptionally talented individuals whose lifetime of outstanding service on behalf of the nuclear enterprise has transcended regional and international boundaries. This year's recipient continues that honored tradition," said Harold McFarlane, President of ANS.

McFarlane presented McGaffigan with the award on behalf of the ANS and the NEI.
Media Contact:
Outreach Department|708-579-8224
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.