American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

New president of the American Nuclear Society begins term

The American Nuclear Society's (ANS) new president Harold F. McFarlane and several new Board Members take office at the ANS Annual Meeting held this year in Reno, NV. McFarlane's one year term officially begins on June 8th.

McFarlane was last years Vice President of ANS and takes over for E. James Reinsch. As President of ANS, McFarlane plans on advancing the importance and renewed interest in Nuclear Science and Technology.

McFarlane brings nearly 40 years of experience in the nuclear industry with him to the position. He along with the Board Officers and Board Members will lead the 10,500 plus membership of national and international scientists, researchers and engineers in efforts to develop and safely apply nuclear science and technology for the publics benefit.

Harold F. McFarlane - ANS President
Harold McFarlane is the Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Nuclear Programs and Director of the Space Nuclear System and Technology Division of the Idaho National Laboratory. In 2005 he was given the ANS Presidential Citation. He was elected as an ANS Fellow by his peers in 1991 and has been an ANS member since 1972.

Donald C. Hintz - ANS Vice President/President-Elect
Donald C. Hintz recently retired from Entergy Corporation in 2004 where he was president for 5 years. After Hintz retired he was elected to the Energy Board of Directors and continues to work for his consulting company. Hintz joined ANS in 1972.

The New Board of Directors

New Officers
Harold F. McFarlane - President
Donald C. Hintz - Vice President/President Elect

New Members
Michaele C. Brady Raap-Chief Engineer at Pacific Northwest Laboratory
Shannon M. Bragg-Sitton-Technical Staff Member at Los Alamos National Laboratory
Melvin R. Buckner-Program Manager and Senior Consultant at Westinghouse
Savannah River Company
Frank O. Carre-Program Director at Comm a L'Energie Atomique
Eric P. Loewen-Manager of Advances Plant New Production at General Electric
Hisashi Ninokata-Professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology
Media Contact:
Outreach Department|708-579-8224
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.