## The Long Wait Is Over

Well, it took a few months longer than anyone liked, but on January 29, Secretary of Energy Steven Chu announced the formation of the longawaited Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future, to provide recommendations for developing a safe, long-term solution to manage the country's spent nuclear fuel and high-level nuclear waste. The commission, being co-chaired by former Congressman Lee Hamilton and former National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft, will provide advice and make recommendations on issues including alternatives for the storage, processing, and disposal of civilian and defense spent fuel and nuclear waste.

The U.S. Department of Energy's press release announcing the commission's formation quoted Secretary Chu as follows: "Nuclear energy provides clean, safe, reliable power and has an important role to play as we build a low-carbon future. The Administration is committed to promoting nuclear power in the United States and developing a safe, long-term solution for the management of used nuclear fuel and nuclear waste. The work of the Blue Ribbon Commission will be invaluable to this process. I want to thank Congressman Hamilton and General Scowcroft for leading the commission and I look forward to receiving their recommendations."

The Commission is made up of 15 members who have a range of expertise and experience in nuclear issues, including scientists, university professors, industry representatives, and former elected officials. It will produce an interim report within 18 months and a final report within 24 months.

The members of the Blue Ribbon Commission are as follows:

• Lee Hamilton, Co-Chair. Lee Hamilton represented Indiana's 9th congressional district from January 1965–January 1999. During his time in Congress, Hamilton served as the ranking member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, and chaired the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. He is currently president and director of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and director of the Center on Congress at Indiana University. He is a member of the President's Intelligence Advisory Board and the President's Homeland Security Advisory Council. Previously, Hamilton served as vice chairman of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States (the 9/11 Commission).

• Brent Scowcroft, Co-Chair. Brent Scowcroft is president of the Scowcroft Group, an international business advisory firm. He has served as the National Security Advisor to both Presidents Gerald Ford and George H.W. Bush. From 1982 to 1989, he was vice chairman of Kissinger Associates Inc., an international consulting firm. Scowcroft served in the military for 29 years, and concluded at the rank of Lieutenant General following service as the Deputy National Security Advisor. Out of uniform, he continued in a public policy capacity by serving on the President's Advisory Committee on Arms Control, the Commission on Strategic Forces, and the President's Special Review Board, also known as the Tower Commission.

• Mark Ayers, president, Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO.

 Vicky Bailey, former commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; former commissioner, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission; former U.S. Department of Energy assistant secretary for Policy and International Affairs.

• Albert Carnesale, chancellor emeritus and professor, UCLA.

• Pete V. Domenici, senior fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center; former U.S. Senator (R-NM).

• Susan Eisenhower, president, Eisenhower Group.

• Chuck Hagel, former U.S. Senator (R-NE).



Now the Blue Ribbon Commission Can Get To Work

 Jonathan Lash, president, World Resources Institute.

• Allison Macfarlane, associate professor of Environmental Science and Policy, George Mason University.

• Richard Meserve, former chairman, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

• Ernie Moniz, professor of Physics and Cecil & Ida Green Distinguished Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

• Per Peterson, professor and chair, Department of Nuclear Engineering, University of California-Berkeley.

• John Rowe, chairman and chief executive officer, Exelon Corp.

• Phil Sharp, president, Resources for the Future.

We wish them luck in all their endeavors.-Nancy J. Zacha, Editor

Editor's Note