Preface

Twenty-Second Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy

Adam Cohen

United States Department of Energy, Washington D.C.

Arnie Kellman

General Atomics, San Diego, California

Susana Reyes

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Livermore, California

The twenty-second Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy (TOFE-2016) was held August 21-25, 2016, as a stand-alone meeting at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The technical program encompassed four days and included a total of 195 presentations. TOFE-2016 was supported by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Fusion Energy Sciences. Plenary oral sessions were held every morning, August 22-25, with very interesting and informative updates on the plans and status of ITER, LHD, K-DEMO, Wendelstein 7-X, EAST, and JT-60SA, and also a session on European DEMO. The second day's plenary focused on an overview of DOE's role in fusion energy development, an update on NIF, and an analysis on future directions of U.S. fusion research. The closing plenary session on the final day of TOFE-2016 focused on forthcoming impacts of materials use. TOFE-2016 included two poster sessions, which featured a total of 89 posters and stimulated much discussion. There was a successful student session, pioneered at TOFE-2016, that encouraged students to participate in sessions and offered opportunities for students to network with professionals.

We would like to express our gratitude to the members of the technical program committee for reviewing the submitted abstracts and developing an outstanding program. In particular, the following technical program committee members were instrumental in the success of TOFE-2016: Jean Paul Allain (University of Illinois), Blair Bromley (Canadian Nuclear Laboratories), Lee Cadwallader (Idaho National Laboratory), Phillip Efthimion [Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL)], Laila El-Guebaly (University of Wisconsin), Feder (PPPL), Satoshi Fukada (Kyushu Russ University), Lauren Garrison [Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)], Mark Hughes (PPPL), Ahmad Ibrahim (ORNL), Guenter Janeschitz (ITER), Satoshi Konishi (Kyoto University), Arnie Lumsdaine (ORNL), Leanna Meyer (PPPL), Greg Morgan [Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL)], Takeo Muroga (National Institute for Fusion Science), Yasuhisa Oya (Shizuoka University), Walter Shmayda (University of Rochester Laboratory for Laser Energetics), Greg Staack (SRNL), Leigh Winfrey (University of Florida), Toshihiko Yamanishi (National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science), and Minami Yoda (Georgia Institute of Technology). We also thank the staff and editors/referees of Fusion Science and Technology for their dedicated efforts in ensuring that this publication is of high quality and published in a timely manner.

Finally, we would also like to mention that the plans for the twenty-third Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy (TOFE-2018) are now under way. TOFE-2018 will be embedded as a part of the American Nuclear Society Winter Meeting held in Orlando, Florida, at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek November 11–15, 2018. TOFE-2018 will be chaired by Leigh Winfrey (University of Florida), and the program chair will be John Gilligan (North Carolina State University).