PREFACE

NINETEENTH TOPICAL MEETING ON THE TECHNOLOGY OF FUSION ENERGY

FARROKH NAJMABADI

University of California, San Diego

The Nineteenth Topical Meeting on the Technology of Fusion Energy (TOFE-19) was held as an embedded topical meeting during the American Nuclear Society (ANS) 2011 Winter Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada. The TOFE-19 sessions took place over four days, November 8–11, 2011. The meeting was sponsored by the ANS Fusion Energy Division; the U.S. Department of Energy; the Atomic Energy Society of Japan; General Atomics; and the University of California, San Diego. The support of these sponsors was critical to enable student travel and for awards as well as for publication of the conference papers.

TOFE-19 was attended by about 240 scientists. There were 202 papers organized into 5 plenary talks, 105 oral presentations distributed over 15 oral sessions (25 invited and 80 contributed), and 92 posters presented in two poster sessions. The distribution of the papers (94 papers from the United States, 75 papers from Asia, and 33 papers from the European Union) underlines the international dimension of TOFE-19. These special issues of *Fusion Science and Technology* include 145 of the accepted papers. About 200 reviewers participated in the peer review process.

I want to thank the chair of the Technical Program Committee, Dr. Shahram Sharafat (UCLA), and vice-chairs, Dr. Laila El-Guebaly (UW-Madison) and Dr. Hideyuki Takatsu (JAEA), for putting together a stimulating technical program.

Thanks are also due the following members of the Technical Program Committee for their help with the program: M. Anderson (UW), J. Blanchard (UW), L. Cadwallader (INL), L. Dauffy (LLNL), P. Humrickhouse (INL), S. Konishi (Kyoto-U.), R. Kurtz (PNL), S. Malang (FZK), J. Minervini (MIT), N. Morely (UCLA), T. Muroga (NIFS), A. Nobile (LANL), W. Reiersen (ORNL), K. Rule (PPPL), A. Sagara (NIFS), J. Santarius (UW), M. Sawan (UW), K. Schultz (GA), L. Snead (ORNL), M. Tillack (UCSD), A. Turnbull (GA), L. Waganer (Boeing), C. Wong (GA), A. Ying (UCLA), M. Yoda (GIT), and M. Youssef (UCLA).