









December 17, 2019

The Honorable Dan Brouillette Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

## Dear Secretary Brouillette:

The undersigned organizations congratulate you on your nomination and confirmation. We wish you continued success at the Department of Energy (DOE) and look forward to working with you on issues of mutual interest.

We also write to seek DOE's continued leadership in requesting funds in its Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 budget request to Congress to advance the following critical elements of an effective nuclear waste management program:

- Completion of the Yucca Mountain license application review according to the Nuclear Waste Policy Act;
- Implementation of pilot consolidated interim storage (CIS) with priority for spent nuclear fuel (SNF) from shutdown reactors; and
- Preparation for the necessary transportation of SNF and high-level radioactive waste regardless of destination (including transportation infrastructure and assistance to states and tribes for transportation safety and related emergency preparedness activities).

We are sincerely grateful for DOE's leadership on nuclear waste management issues, especially the inclusion of these elements in your FY 2018, FY 2019, and FY 2020 budget requests. We hope to see that repeated for FY 2021 and stand ready to support such a request before Congress. We cannot stress enough the importance of the federal government taking meaningful action toward meeting its commitment to remove nuclear waste currently stored at both operating and shutdown reactor sites in our states and communities.

Thank you for your consideration. Our organizations would be happy to serve as a resource throughout your leadership. Please do not hesitate to have your team contact us directly or NWSC Executive Director Katrina McMurrian at katrina@theNWSC.org or 615.905.1375 to discuss how we may be supportive of the DOE's efforts to address these issues.

Craig Piercy
Executive Director & CEO
American Nuclear Society (ANS)

Maria Korsnick

Maria Korsnick President & CEO Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) Wayne Norton

Chair, Decommissioning Plant Coalition (DPC)
Steering Committee, and President & CEO,
Yankee Atomic Electric Company

David Blee
President & CEO
U.S. Nuclear Industry Council (NIC)

**Brandon Presley** 

President, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), and Chairman, Mississippi Public Service Commission

Sarah Hofmann

Chair, Nuclear Waste Strategy Coalition (NWSC), and Commissioner, Vermont Public Utility Commission

cc: Mr. James Colgary, Chief of Staff, U.S. Department of Energy

Dr. Benjamin Reinke, Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Energy

Mr. Randall M. Hendrickson, Acting Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Department of Energy

The Honorable Rita Baranwal, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, U.S. Department of Energy