American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Research and Advanced Reactors (RAR) Consensus Committee

The RAR Consensus Committee is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for the design, operation, maintenance, operator selection and training, and quality requirements for current and future research and test reactors including pulsed critical facilities, reactors used for the production of isotopes for industrial, educational, and medical purposes and current and advanced non-large LWRs. The scope includes but is not limited to: water-cooled and non-water cooled Small Modular Reactors, Generation III+ and IV reactors, and future non-light water cooled/moderated large commercial reactors.

The RAR standards include but are not limited to the design and operation of the nuclear island, the balance of plant, and other systems within the plant boundary affecting safety and operations. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The RAR oversees the following 2 subcommittees:

  • Advanced Initiatives
  • Operation of Research Reactors (previously ANS-15)

RAR Membership Roster

George F. Flanagan (Chair), Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Bruce B. Bevard (Vice Chair), Oak Ridge National Laboratory
D. Sean O'Kelly (Vice Chair), National Institute of Standards and Technology
Alexander Adams, Jr., U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Gary Adkins, Tennessee Valley Authority
James K. August, CORE, Inc.
Edward D. Blandford, University of New Mexico
Robert E. Carter, Individual
Leslie P. Foyto, University of Missouri
Anthony Grenci, Chicago Bridge and Iron
Thomas A. Kevern, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
David R. Lawson, U.S. Department of Energy
Matthew J. Memmott, Westinghouse Electric Company
Marya K. Morrison, Idaho National Laboratory
Thomas J. Myers, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Mark W. Peres, Fluor Enterprises, Inc.
Steven R. Reese, Oregon State University
Richard S. Turk, Rick Turk, LLC
Theodore R. Schmidt, Individual
Anthony Veca, General Atomics

RAR Documents


Last updated February 5, 2015, 2:30pm CST

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.